USA announces complete MTB World's team

USA Cycling finalised its team for the 2005 Mountain Bike World Championships in Livigno, Italy...

Additional discretionary selections bring roster to 43

USA Cycling finalised its team for the 2005 Mountain Bike World Championships in Livigno, Italy later this month by announcing 21 discretionary nominations, in addition to the 23 who qualified automatically.

Of the previously announced automatic qualifiers, Alison Dunlap (Colorado Springs, Colo.) declined her nomination to the team. The two-time Olympian and 2001 world champion has announced her retirement from world-class competition after the 2005 season, where she will focus solely on domestic-based events including the NORBA National Mountain Bike Series.

Discretionary picks to the men's cross country squad include 2004 U.S. Olympic Team member Todd Wells (Durango, Colo.), Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va.), Michael Broderick (Chilmark, Mass.), Barry Wicks (Corvallis, Ore.) and current U.S. Elite National Road Race Champion Carl Decker (Bend, Ore.).

The sole addition to the women's cross country team is Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo.). Irmiger has put up impressive results in cross country events on the NORBA series this year with second and third place finishes respectively at round three in Deer Valley, Utah and round four in Sandpoint, Idaho.

Other additions include Nick Ranno (Boulder, Colo.), and Sam Jurekovic (Durango, Colo.) in the U23 cross country category and Michael Cummings (Snellville, Ga.), Kyle Hammaker (Marysville, Pa.), Mitchell Peterson (Sandy, Utah) and Tristen Uhl (Smithville, Texas) in the junior men's cross country discipline.

The elite men's downhill squad added four as Chris Van Dine (Salt Lake, City, Utah), Gerritt Beytagh (Fletcher, N.C.), Curtis Keene (Fremont, Calif.) and David Klaassenvanoorschot (Riverside, Calif.) earned nominations. Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz.), who was an automatic selection to compete in the 4-cross, was added to the elite women's downhill roster.

Bronze medalist in the junior men's downhill at last year's world championships in Les Gets, France, Kyle Strait (Redlands, Calif.), was an automatic selection to the elite 4-cross squad, but also earned a discretionary pick to again ride in the junior men's downhill race. Strait joins Brendon Newton (Arvada, Colo.), and Kyle Adams (Hesperia, Calif.) as discretionary selections for the junior men's downhill. Veteran rider Mike King (San Diego, Calif.) earned a slot in the men's 4-cross.

Complete U.S. Team for UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

*Denotes Automatic Selections

Elite Men Cross Country

*Adam Craig (Bend, Ore)
*Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo.)
Michael Broderick (Chilmark, Mass.)
Barry Wicks (Corvallis, Ore.)
Todd Wells (Durango, Colo.)
Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va.)
Carl Decker (Bend, Ore.)

Elite Women Cross Country

*Mary McConneloug (Chilmark, Mass.)
*Willow Koerber (Horseshoe, N.C.)
*Shonny Vanlandingham (Durango, Colo.)
*Kelli Emmett (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
*Susan Haywood (Davis, W. Va.)
Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo.)

U23 Men Cross Country

*Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont.)
*Nick Waite (Davis, W. Va.)
*Andy Schultz (Missoula, Mont.)
Nick Ranno (Boulder, Colo.)
Sam Jurekovic (Durango, Colo.)

Junior Men Cross Country

*Colin Cares (Boulder, Colo.)
Michael Cummings (Snellville, Ga.)
Kyle Hammaker (Marysville, Pa.)
Mitchell Peterson (Sandy, Utah)
Tristen Uhl (Smithville, Texas)

Junior Women Cross Country

*Danae York (Indio, Calif.)
*Chloe Forsman (Boulder, Colo.)

Elite Men Downhill

*Cody Warren (Alpine, Calif.)
Chris Van Dine (Salt Lake, City, Utah)
Gerritt Beytagh (Fletcher, N.C.)
Curtis Keene (Fremont, Calif.)
David Klaassenvanoorschot (Riverside, Calif.)

Elite Women Downhill

*Kathy Pruitt (Lake Almanor, Calif.)
Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz.)

Junior Men Downhill

*Travis Bond (Chattanooga, Tenn.)
Kyle Strait (Redlands, Calif.)
Brendon Newton (Arvada, Colo.)
Kyle Adams (Hesperia, Calif.)

Elite Men 4-Cross

*Brian Lopes (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.)
*Kyle Strait (Redlands, Calif.)
*Robin Baloochi (San Diego, Calif.)
*Cody Warren (Alpine, Calif.)
*Rich Houseman (Temecula, Calif.)
*Eric Carter (Temecula, Calif.)
Mike King (San Diego, Calif.)

Elite Women 4-Cross

*Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash.)
*Tara Llanes (Los Alamitos, Calif.)
*Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz.)

Back to top