Team Saxo Bank announces Tour line up

Danish squad aiming to "dominate" the Tour de France

Team Saxo Bank announced its finalised team for the Tour de France on Monday with brothers Andy and Fränk Schleck to lead the Danish squad’s assault on the overall classification. Fabian Cancellara’s recent good form will see the Swiss rider targeting the Tour’s first yellow jersey at the prologue in Monaco on July 4.

Six riders from last year's Tour de France winning CSC-Saxo Bank team have returned. Riders to the Tour team will be Nicki Sørensen, Chris Anker Sørensen and Gustav Larsson.

Team owner Bjarne Riis has indicated that the team will aim to impact the race throughout its three weeks.

"We have picked nine riders which together form an extremely strong lineup which could help dominating the course from the beginning to the end", said Riis.

"With Fabian in peak shape it is clear that we have a perfect chance of taking the yellow jersey from the start and there is absolutely no doubt that this is what we are here for. In Frank and Andy Schleck, we have two super-powerful cards to play and the rest of the guys will be able to give them the right support."

The full Saxo Bank roster for the Tour de France is: Andy Schleck, Fränk Schleck, Fabian Cancellara, Stuart O'Grady, Jens Voigt, Nicki Sørensen, Chris Anker Sørensen, Gustav Larsson and Kurt-Asle Arvesen.

Related Articles

Back to top