Powers, Bruno-Roy top US cyclo-cross rankings

Three races remaining on US calendar

The USA's UCI cyclo-cross season is nearly at an end, and with just two regular season races left before the national championships, Jeremy Powers (Cyclocrossworld/Cannondale) and Maureen Bruno-Roy (MM Racing/Seven) hold onto solid leads in their respective classes.

Powers nabbed double victories in the Baystate Cyclo-cross races in Massachusetts, while Bruno-Roy's consistency kept her in the overall lead behind dual victor Mary McConneloug. A second and fourth place on the weekend puts Bruno-Roy 60 points ahead of McConneloug, while Powers leads by 30 over teammate Jamie Driscoll, with Tim Johnson in third.

Three races in Iowa City did little to affect the top of the rankings, but fierce competition for the remaining UCI points, which count toward starting position at nationals, ensured strong competition. Todd Wells (Specialized) and Meredith Miller (California Giant Berry -Specialized) proved unbeatable in all three Jingle Cross Rock events.

Men's Standings
1Jeremy Powers (Cyclocrossworld/Cannondale)424pts
2James Driscoll (Cyclocrossworld/Cannondale)394 
3Timothy Johnson (Cyclocrossworld/Cannondale)382 
4Ryan Trebon (Kona-FSA)325 
5Dan Timmerman (Richard Sachs/RGM Watches/Radix.)227 
Women's Standings
1Maureen Bruno-Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles)254pts
2Mary McConneloug (Kenda/Seven/NoTubes)194 
3Laura Van Gilder (C3)191 
4Katerina Nash (Luna)165 
5Katie Compton (Planet Bike)160 

The final three races take place over the next two weeks, with the US Gran Prix of Cyclo-cross Portland Cup double header on December 5-6 and the US National Championships in Bend, Oregon on December 10-13.

Full Specifications

The 2009 Cyclingnews reader poll

The Cyclingnews 2009 reader poll is on now!

You can still enter the 2009 Cyclingnews reader poll and vote for your riders, teams, races, moments, equipment and photos of the year.

One lucky reader will win an Argon18 Krypton bike so get your entries in before the closing date - December 31, 2009.

Back to top