Powers, Anderson win USA Cycling Pro Cyclo-cross Calendar

Equal payout to top-20 in men's, women's series

Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) and Elle Anderson (Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) have claimed their respective elite men's and elite women's titles in the USA Cycling Pro Cyclo-cross Calendar and an equal $5,000 winner's share of the $40,000 overall purse.

Jeremy Powers, who won 12 races on the calendar, earned 1,015 points to secure the top spot for the elite men. Tim Johnson (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld), a winner of seven races on the calendar, surged late in the season but was ultimately unable to dethrone Powers and finished with 989 points. Belgium's Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement), four times a winner this season, placed third overall with a total of 866 points.

Johnson's Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld teammate Ryan Trebon ended the Pro CX fourth overall at 711 points while Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh-Clement) rounded out the top five with 530 points.

Elle Anderson grabbed an early lead and did not look back as she claimed the elite women's title. Anderson's season total came to 809 points and included six victories and seven additional podium finishes. Czech Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Team) ascended the standings late in the season, but was not able to overtake Anderson as she finished second with 755 points.

Meredith Miller (Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) held off Crystal Anthony (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) to place third with 677 points while Anthony was fourth at 653 points. Laura van Gilder (Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers) produced strong results late in the season to place fifth after tallying 493 points.

Austin Vincent (Race Cf-Racecf.Org @Racecf) won the junior men's Pro CX series with 345 points, 59 ahead of runner-up Lance Haidet (Bear Development Team). Peter Goguen (Race Cf-Racecf.Org @Racecf) placed third with 254 points, only four points ahead of Cooper Willsey (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com), who completed the season in fourth place. David Lombardo (WCJ Racing) rounded out the top five with 236 points.

For the elite men and women, the Pro CX calendar was comprised of all the UCI-sanctioned cyclo-cross races taking place in the US. Extending from the season opener at Pennsylvania's Nittany Lion Cross on September 7, 2013, through the finale this past Sunday at Tennessee's Kingsport Cyclo-cross Cup, the elite competitors faced 43 days of racing. The elite men and women each vied for an identical $20,000 purse split amongst the top-20 overall finishers.

The junior men had an abbreviated calendar which totalled 10 days of racing.

Elite men's USAC Pro CX standings (top-20)
1Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus1015pts
2Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com989 
3Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement866 
4Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com711 
5James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement530 
6Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized485 
7Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX399 
8Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team334 
9Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com331 
10Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus319 
11Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team315 
12Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies310 
13Stephen Hyde (USA) JAM Fund-NCC305 
14Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement290 
15Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund-NCC277 
16Daniel Summerhill (USA) K-Edge/Felt Bicycles274 
17Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott Bikes248 
18Mike Garrigan (Can) Van Dessel240 
19Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies235 
20Logan Owen (USA) California Giant-Specialized231 
Elite women's USAC Pro CX standings (top-20)
1Elle Anderson (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized809pts
2Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team755 
3Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized677 
4Crystal Anthony (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies653 
5Laura Van Gilder (USA) Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom493 
6Nicole Duke (USA) Marin-Spy486 
7Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective453 
8Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling439 
9Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com416 
10Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles391 
11Courtenay McFadden (USA) Bicycle Blue Book-HRS-Rock Lobster376 
12Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh-Clement367 
13Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus290 
14Emma White (USA) Cyclocrossworld.com280 
15Amanda Miller (USA) Team TIBCO264 
16Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing261 
17Amanda Carey (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite256 
18Beth Ann Orton (USA) Team S&M249 
19Cassandra Maximenko (USA) Rare Vos Racing248 
20Rebecca Blatt (USA) Van Dessel208 
Junior men's USAC Pro CX standings (top-20)
1Austin Vincent (USA) Race CF | racecf.org @racecf345pts
2Lance Haidet (USA) Bear Development Team286 
3Peter Goguen (USA) RACE CF | racecf.org @racecf254 
4Cooper Willsey (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld250 
5David Lombardo (USA) WCJ Racing236 
6Nolan Brady (USA) Rad Racing NW234 
7Ian McShane (USA) Sophisticated Living/Bobs Red Mill226 
8Ethan Reynolds (USA) Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team, Inc.221 
9Maxx Chance (USA) Clif Bar Development Cyclocross Team197 
10Garrett Gerchar (USA) Boulder Junior Cycling197 
11Brannan Fix (USA) Boo Bicycles-Training Peaks140 
12Chris Key (USA) Boulder Junior Cycling123 
13David O'Brien (USA) Rad Racing NW104 
14Noah Granigan (USA) Race CF | racecf.org @racecf97 
15Raphael Auclair (Can) Subway-Sigma / Pivot Cycles88 
16Grant Ellwood (USA) Boulder Cyclo Sport Devo p/b BJC87 
17Javier Colton (USA) Sunnyside Sports78 
18Jonathan Brown (USA) Hot Tubes Junior Development Team77 
19Samuel Rosenberg (USA) Hutchs-Slocum-CoMotion71 
20Josey Weik (USA) Red Zone66 

Related Articles

Back to top