New Zealand Cup switches venues

Tauranga to replace Whakatane for downhill round five

A round of the 2010 New Zealand Mountain Bike Cup will switch from Whakatane to Tauranga. Round five will happen at a new downhill race site on Mt. Kopukairoa on February 12-13.

"Due to unresolvable access issues, Whakatane is unable to host...," read a statement from Mountain Bike New Zealand Event Coordinator Chris Mildon.

Tim Lawton, a key driver behind the Mt. Kopukairoa downhill facility, is excited about the opportunity for the region. "Everything has fallen into place really well for us, with the local riding community right behind this initiative and enthusiastic to host the NZ MTB Cup event."

The updated schedule of New Zealand events is below.

RaboPlus New Zealand MTB Cup, Downhill Series(Revised)
January 8-9: Round 1 - Christchurch
January 15-17: Round 2 - Dunedin
January 23-24: Round 3 - Nelson
February 5-6: Round 4 - Rotorua
February 12-13: Round 5 - Tauranga
February 20-21: Round 6 - Rotorua

RaboPlus New Zealand MTB Cup, Cross Country Series
January 10: Round 1 - Christchurch
January 16: Round 2 - Dunedin
January 23: Round 3 - Nelson
February 7: Round 4 - Tokoroa
February 14: Round 5 - Hamilton
February 20: Round 6 - Rotorua

RaboPlus New Zealand National Mountain Bike Championships
February 26 - March 1: Wellington

New Zealand Marathon National Championships
March 6: Wellington

UCI Oceania Mountain Bike Championships
March 18-21: Dunedin, New Zealand

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Related Articles

Back to top