Hoy and Wiggins for Manchester track World Cup

The British team will feature some heavy hitters for the upcoming UCI Track Cycling World Cup finale...

The British team will feature some heavy hitters for the upcoming UCI Track Cycling World Cup finale in Manchester February 23-25. Olympic champions Chris Hoy and Bradley Wiggins and women's world sprint champion Victoria Pendleton will race in their home country. Wiggins is a favorite in the pursuit.

Joining the Science in Sport and 100% ME registered track team riders will be former world championship silver and Commonwealth Games bronze medalist Tony Gibb of the Plowman Craven / Evan Cycles team.

Wendy Houvenhagel and Rebecca Romero met in an exciting match at the Moscow world cup when Houvenhagel narrowly defeated Romero in the final of the women’s 3,000m individual pursuit by just 0.015 sec. Houvenhagel tops the world cup table for the women's individual pursuit going into the final event.

Youngster and local from Bolton, Jason Kenny, will be cheered on by friends and family in the sprint. He won three gold medals in the junior track worlds.

Look out for British national junior road race champion Russell Hampton in some mass start events. He won gold in the scratch race at the Los Angeles world cup.

Anna Blyth and Shanaze Reade will make up the first British team to contest the women's team sprint on Saturday night. Blyth is experienced track sprinter and Reade moving over to track racing from BMX.

Sprint Team Men
Chris Hoy (Great Britain)
Craig MacLean (Great Britain)
Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
Matt Crampton (Great Britain)
Jason Queally (Science in Sport)
Jason Kenny (Science in Sport)
Jamie Staff (Science in Sport)

Sprint Team Women
Anna Blyth (Great Britain)
Shanaze Reade (Great Britain)
Victoria Pendleton (Science in Sport)

Endurance Men
Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)
Ed Clancy (Great Britain)
Gerraint Thomas (Great Britain)
Paul Manning (Great Britain)
Rob Hayles (Great Britain)
Chris Newton (Recycling)
Russell Hampton (100% ME)
Ben Swift (100% ME)
Steve Burke (100% ME)
Jon Bellis (100% ME)
Ross Sander (100% ME)
Andy Tennant (100% ME)

Endurance Women
Nikki Harris (Great Britain)
Lizzie Armistead (Great Britain)
Rebecca Romero (Great Britain)
Wendy Houvenhagel (Science in Sport)
Kate Curtis (100% ME)
Joanna Rowsell (100% ME)

Back to top