TechPowered By

More tech

Harman in the lead for Rider-of-the-Season award

Rod Morris in Devonport, Tasmania
January 01, 2006, 0:00 GMT,
April 20, 2009, 22:57 BST
First Edition Cycling News for January 1, 2006

By Rod Morris in Devonport, Tasmania New Devonport Wheel champion, Jarrod Harman has moved into the...

By Rod Morris in Devonport, Tasmania

New Devonport Wheel champion, Jarrod Harman has moved into the lead in Cycling Tasmania's Rider-of-the-Season award with just five carnivals left to determine the winner. Harman enjoyed a successful night at the final session of the Devonport Carnival, winning both the $7000 Devonport Wheelrace and the C Grade Scratch.

The dual wins elevated him to 23 points and level with Launceston's Tom Robinson, who had a barren night in regard of podium placings. Harman however took the lead courtesy of a countback - four wins, compared to Robinson's three.

Harman has also leapt into outright second on Cycling Tasmania's Order-of-Merit, with season earnings of $5195, but still well behind the leader, Matt Goss, who has amassed $8875, courtesy of a $7500 payout for winning the Latrobe Wheel on Boxing Day.

The CT award is based on a sliding points scale on all handicap finals and all graded scratch races at every Tasmanian track carnival with events at Burnie, Hobart, Rosebery, Mersey Valley and St Helens still to be raced. Outside of Robinson, Harman's biggest dangers include veteran Steve Martini (20 points), Goss (18), Nathan Clarke (18), Will Robinson (17) and Burnie's Aaron Jones (17).

South Riana rider Karissa Ling extended her narrow lead in the women's category to two points, with Sarah Cure, Jessica Berry and Grace Sulzberger the closest challengers.

Luke Ockerby continues to dominate the junior award, stretching his lead to 10-points over Ben Grenda and then a further seven points to Izac Guest and Andrew Smith. Riders will be keen to chase further points in today's Burnie New Year's Day Carnival.

Award update

Back to top