Froome signs contract extension with Team Sky

British squad retain core for 2014

Team Sky has announced that a number of riders, including Tour de France winner Chris Froome, have signed contract extensions with the team ahead of the 2014 season.

Peter Kennaugh, David López, Ian Stannard, Luke Rowe, Salvatore Puccio, Sergio Henao, Chris Sutton, Danny Pate, and Xabier Zandio have also signed contract renewals. Henao will be joined by his younger cousin, Sebastian, on the team in 2014, along with fellow new signings Nathan Earle, Mikel Nieve and Philip Deignan.

Bradley Wiggins has one year left on his deal and is yet to clarify his intentions on whether he will remian with the team beyond 2014. His name was a notable absence among those who were offered extensions on their contracts

In statement released to the press on Monday, Rod Ellingworth said, "everyone is excited to kick things off again in 2014 and we do so with what we believe is the most talented team in the world."

The Team Sky’s Performance Manager added: "We've consolidated what is an incredibly strong group of guys over the winter. The team's core remains intact and that’s important going forward.

"Everyone is committed to keep improving and we always look to provide the best environment for riders to do that."

Next season Sky will look to win a third straight Tour de France with Froome hoping to defend his title. He will be challenged by Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) and Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank).

Froome said: "This has been an incredible year for me and I'm delighted to finish it off by signing a new contract with Team Sky. I've been with this team since the start and I know this is the right place for me to continue to grow as a rider.

"It's impossible to win races without the right team beside you so I'd like to thank everyone at the team for their continued support. It's an honour to be a Team Sky rider and I hope to play a big part of its success for years to come."


Related Articles

Back to top