31 UCI Women's teams for 2014

USA, Australia earn automatic bids

The UCI has announced the registration of 31 women's teams to the professional ranks for the 2014 road season. It also ranked the teams based on the individual UCI points of the top four athletes from each team, and points from the 2013 UCI Road World Championship team time trial to determine automatic invitations for the class 1 events.

The top 20 teams in this ranking earn the right to participate in the UCI Women's Road World Cup, while the top 10 are automatically invited to class 1 (1.1, 2.1) events as do the top five national teams.

The Rabo Liv team of world champion Marianne Vos topped the rankings, with Emma Johansson's Orica-AIS in second. Boels Dolmans, led by Briton Lizzy Armitstead was third, while American squad Specialized-Lululemon was fourth over hitec Products.

The top national teams were the Netherlands, Italy, Sweden, the USA and Australia.

The total number of women's teams was down three, from 34 in 2013 to 31. Nine teams went away - most notably the Belgian Sengers Ladies Team, Bourgogne-Pro Dialog from France. The Cyclelive Plus - Zannata and Team Futurumshop.nl merged to form Futurumshop.nl - Zannata, and the Exergy women's team stepped back to the non-UCI ranks.

Among the new teams to the UCI peloton is the UnitedHealthcare women's team, already victorious in the first UCI race of the season, the Tour Femenino de San Luis, won by American Alison Powers, and the Bigla Cycling Team from Switzerland.

2014 UCI Women's 'fictitious' rankings

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team  
2Orica – AIS  
3Boels Dolmans Cycling Team  
4Specialized - Lululemon  
5Hitec Products  
6Wiggle Honda  
7Team Giant–Shimano  
8Alé Cipollini  
10Astana Bepink Womens Team  
11Estado De Mexico Faren  
12Lotto Belisol Ladies  
13Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies  
14Bizkaia – Durango  
15Bigla Cycling Team  
16Servetto Footon  
17Top Girls Fassa Bortolo  
18S.C. Michela Fanini Rox  
19Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team  
21Vienne Futuroscope  
22Vaiano Fondriest  
23BTC City Ljubljana  
24Futurumshop.Nl – Zannata  
25China Chongming - Giant Pro Cycling  
26Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
27Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro – Duo  
28Firefighters Upsala CK  
29Tibco / To The Top  
30Team Rytger  
31No Radunion Vitalogic  


Back to top