TechPowered By

More tech

16 teams confirmed for inaugural Dubai Tour

Cycling News
January 29, 08:05,
January 29, 08:35
First Edition Cycling News, Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Dubai Tour
The logo for the Tour of Dubai which will be run in 2014

The logo for the Tour of Dubai which will be run in 2014

view thumbnail gallery

Costa, Cancellara, Cavendish, Sagan and Phinney in action

16 teams will line up for the first edition of RCS Sport's Dubai Tour on February 5, including the world champion Rui Costa and his Lampre-Merida team.

The other WorldTour teams racing are Astana, BMC, Cannondale, Garmin-Sharp, Movistar, Omega Pharma-Quickstep, Giant-Shimano, Katusha, Tinkoff-Saxo and Trek Factory Racing. There will also be four Continental teams: Banco Bic-Carmim from Portugal, Vini Fantini-Nippo De Rosa from Japan, RTS-Santic Racing Team from Taipei, Skydive Dubai and the United Arab Emirates national team.

The opening 10km time trial will be the first test of the year between the specialists: reigning world time trial Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quickstep), former world champion Fabian Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing), ambitious American Taylor Phinney (BMC) and Briton Alex Dowsett (Movistar). The remaining three stages should favor the sprinters: Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quickstep), Thor Hushvod (BMC), Peter Sagan (Cannondale) and Marcel Kittel (Giant-Shimano).

There is but one opportunity for the climbers to stretch their legs on stage three: a 162km trek from Dubai into the desert to Hatta, which includes two small ascents, but it may not be enough for the likes of Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) or Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) to gain time.

The Dubai Tour will be shown live on Eurosport, RAI Sport 2 and as highlights on Australia Fox TV.

GreaseMonster 7 months ago
With enough money anyone can have their own stage race. On the race website they go over the top for what is essentially a glorified training camp without any climbing.
PCM Geek 7 months ago
Since it seems like a lot of races are going out of business recently due to financial difficulties and bad economies, then wouldn't you agree that it's a good thing to have new races replace the old. This is an investment in the sport and it's a good thing so give this race a chance, I would say...
Robert21 7 months ago
Personally, I have no interest in watching a race held in a private dictatorship, built and serviced by what, to all intents and purposes, is slave labour.
BrandyMStirling 7 months ago
Start working from home! Great job for students, stay-at-home moms or anyone needing an extra income... You only need a computer and a reliable internet connection... Make $90 hourly and up to $12000 a month by following link at the bottom and signing up... You can have your first check by the end of this week... =====> W­­W­­W.­­V­­O­­X­­­­J­­O­­B.­­C­­O­­M­­
ellenbrook2001 7 months ago
hehE forget about that country hoping all the riders would get a big pay cheque money do not worry in DUBAI