La Course by Le Tour de France 2019

Latest News from the Race

La Course by Le Tour de France - Overview


Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) won the La Course by Le Tour de France with a powerful attack on the late climb in the centre of Pau.

Vos caught and passed Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) at the top of the climb after Spratt had been on a solo attack for the last of the five 27km laps.

Vos powered to the finish and won with a three-second gap to Leah Kirchmann (Team Sunweb) who beat Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Bigla) in the sprint for second place.

Last year, organisers of the Tour de France, ASO, revealed details of their Women's WorldTour one-day race La Course by Le Tour de France that would be scheduled to take place on July 19 in Pau.

The race shifted away from the route that boasted a mountainous race to Le Grand-Bornand last year to a hilly circuit race that was more suited to the puncheurs of the peloton.

The women raced along a circuit race, held on a version of the 27km time trial course used for stage 13 of the men's Tour de France. They completed five laps of the circuit for a total of 121km.

The route included climbs over the Côte d’Esquillot and Cite de Gelos, making the circuit a challenge but one that suited the one-day Classics specialists.


Listen to the latest Cyclingnews Podcast Women's Edition


La Course by Le Tour de France 2019 - top 10 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marianne Vos (Ned) CCC-Liv3:15:20
2Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb Women0:00:03
3Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Bigla Pro Cycling TeamRow 2 - Cell 2
4Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb Women0:00:04
5Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) CCC-Liv0:00:06
6Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Trek-Segafredo WomenRow 5 - Cell 2
7Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton-Scott Women0:00:07
8Soraya Paladin (Ita) Ale CipolliniRow 7 - Cell 2
9Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spa) WNT-Rotor Pro CyclingRow 8 - Cell 2
10Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans CyclingteamRow 9 - Cell 2



Top News on the Race

Related Features