Ceratizit Challenge by la Vuelta 2021

Latest News from the Race

Van Vleuten wins the Ceratizit Challenge by La Vuelta

Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) won the overall title at the 2021 Challenge by La Vuelta. 

Van Vleuten took a solo win on the previous day's stage 3 to take the leader's jersey  and maintained her overall lead after finishing safely in the field on the stage 4 finale in Santiago de Compostela.

The leader of the Women's WorldTour won the overall title ahead Marlen Reusser (Ale BTC Ljubljana) and Elise Chabbey (Canyon-SRAM).

The four-day race closed with 107.4km from As Pontes to Santiago de Compostela. 

Lotte Kopecky (Liv Racing) took the win on the final stage 4 ahead of Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) and Anna Henderson (Jumbo-Visma Women Team).

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Liv Racing 2:29:37
2Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
3Anna Henderson (GBr) Jumbo-Visma Women Team 0:00:04
4Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) Team SD Worx 0:00:06
5Silvia Zanardi (Ita) BePink
6Elisa Balsamo (Ita) Valcar-Travel & Service
7Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Canyon-SRAM Racing
8Liane Lippert (Ger) Team DSM 0:00:08
9Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team DSM
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification after stage 4
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Movistar Team Women 8:40:18
2Marlen Reusser (Swi) Ale' BTC Ljubljana 0:01:34
3Elise Chabbey (Swi) Canyon-SRAM Racing 0:03:12
4Marta Cavalli (Ita) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:03:30
5Liane Lippert (Ger) Team DSM 0:03:59
6Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Canyon-SRAM Racing 0:04:04
7Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:04:13
8Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team DSM 0:04:38
9Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) Team SD Worx 0:04:57
10Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) Liv Racing 0:07:58

Ceratizit Challenge by La Vuelta

The organisers of the Women's WorldTour race, the Ceratizit Challenge by La Vuelta, have expanded their event to a four-day race held from September 2-5 in Spain.

The event is part of the Women's WorldTour and will included 24 participating teams.

All nine top-tier Women's WorldTeams will be on the start line including Alé BTC Ljubljana, Canyon-SRAM, FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope, Liv Racing, Movistar Team Women, Team BikeExchange, Team DSM, Team SD Worx and Trek-Segafredo.

Organisers have also invited 15 wildcard teams that are part of the second-tier of Continental teams that include Spain-based teams Bizkaia – Durango, Eneicat – RBH Global – Martin Villa, Laboral Kutxa – Fundación Euskadi, Massi – Tactic Women Team, Rio Miera – Cantabria Deporte, Sopela Women’s Team, Team Farto – BTC and Women Cycling Sport.

Ceratiizit-WNT, the team of two-time defending champion Lisa Brennauer, will be on the start line along with Norwegian Team Coop-Hitec Products, Canadian team Instafund Racing, Dutch team Jumbo-Visma, American outfit Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank and Italian teams Bepink and Valcar-Travel & Service.

The route

This year's race has expanded to four days of racing, up one stage compared to last year, and is the only Women's WordTour race held in September. The four stages will include two mid-mountain stages, a mountain time trial to the Cabeza de Manzaneda Ski Resort, and sprint finale in Santiago de Compostela.


The Ceratizit Challenge started out as a one-day race in Madrid in 2015 won by Shelley Olds, while the 2016 and 2017 editions were won by Jolien D'hoore . The event expanded to two stages in 2018 won by Ellen van Dijk. Brennauer won back-to-back editions in 2019 and in 2020, when a third stage was added. However, this year's race will be the toughest of all the editions.


  • Ale’ BTC Ljubljana (ITA)
  • Canyon-SRAM Racing (GER)
  • FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope (FRA)
  • Liv Racing (NED)
  • Movistar Team Women (ESP)
  • Team BikeExchange (AUS)
  • Team DSM (GER)
  • Team SD Worx (NED)
  • Trek-Segafredo (USA)
  • Bepink (ITA)
  • Bizkaia – Durango (ESP)
  • CERATIZIT – WNT Pro Cycling Team (GER)
  • Eneicat – RBH Global – Martin Villa (ESP)
  • Team Coop – Hitec Products (NOR)
  • Instafund Racing (CAN)
  • Jumbo-Visma Women Cycling Team (NED)
  • Laboral Kutxa – Fundación Euskadi (ESP)
  • Massi – Tactic Women Team (ESP)
  • Rio Miera – Cantabria Deporte (ESP)
  • Sopela Women’s Team (ESP)
  • Team Farto – BTC (ESP)
  • Team Tibco – Silicon Valley Bank (USA)
  • Valcar – Travel & Service (ITA)
  • Women Cycling Sport (ESP)

Top News on the Race

Related Features