Vuelta a Espana 2016 teams announced

The full 2016 Vuelta a Espana race route

The full 2016 Vuelta a Espana race route (Image credit: ASO)

Vuelta a Espana organisers ASO have announced the 22 teams that will take part in this year’s race. Alongside the 18 WorldTour teams, Bora-Argon 18, Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Cofidis and Direct Energie have been confirmed as wildcard entries.

Caja Rural, Cofidis and Direct Energie were all part of the Vuelta a Espana line-up in 2015. For Bora-Argon 18 it will be their first appearance at the Vuelta a Espana and their selection makes it two German teams in the Vuelta a Espana for the first time in seven years. Last year, none of the wildcard teams won a stage. However Caja Rural’s Omar Fraile claimed the mountains classification. He is likely to be back for his new Dimension Data team this season.

The 2016 Vuelta a Espana starts in Galicia with a team time trial on August 20 and it finishes with a sprint stage in Madrid on September 11. Fabio Aru took his first Grand Tour title at last year’s Vuelta a Espana, beating Joaquim Rodriguez by 57 seconds.

WorldTour teams

Ag2r La Mondiale
Astana Pro Team
BMC Racing Team
Cannondale Pro Cycling Team
Etixx - Quick Step
IAM Cycling
Lampre - Merida
Lotto Soudal
Movistar Team
Orica GreenEdge
Team Dimension Data
Team Giant - Alpecin
Team Katusha
Team Lotto NL - Jumbo
Team Sky
Trek - Segafredo

Wildcard teams

Bora - Argon18
Caja Rural - Seguros RGA
Cofidis, Solutions Crédits
Direct Energie

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1