Thomas, Geoghegan Hart, and Yates brothers to form Great Britain team at Tokyo Olympic Games

British Geraint Thomas of Ineos Grenadiers celebrates as he crosses the finish line to win the fifth stage of the 73rd edition of the Criterium du Dauphine cycling race 1745km from Saint Chamond to SaintVallier France Thursday 03 June 2021BELGA PHOTO DAVID STOCKMAN Photo by DAVID STOCKMANBELGA MAGAFP via Getty Images
Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) has made the Great Britain Tokyo Olympic Games squad (Image credit: Getty Images)

The official announcement is expected in the third week of June but Cyclingnews understands that Great Britain's four-rider team for the Tokyo Olympic Games will comprise Geraint Thomas, Tao Geoghegan Hart, and Adam and Simon Yates after the selectors and the British Olympic Association (BOA) rubber stamped the selection.

Two of those four riders will compete in the men’s individual time trial, with Thomas and Geoghegan Hart likely fill to those two spots. Teams can be altered due to medical reasons in the next few weeks, for example, if a rider sustains an injury in a race or falls sick.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.