Skip to main content

Seventh TransRockies less than a month away

Image 1 of 2

Two racers among beautiful scenery

Two racers among beautiful scenery (Image credit: TransRockies)
Image 2 of 2

The peloton rolls

The peloton rolls (Image credit: TransRockies)

The seventh edition of the TransRockies, which takes place in Canada's Rocky Mountains, is less than one month away. Starting August 10 in Panorama Mountain Village, British Columbia, 500 riders from more than 30 countries will tackle a longer, revised course. The race runs through Saturday, August 16 and ends in Fernie.

In 2007, forest fires caused the course to be changed to include an extra night at Nipika Mountain resort while the planned overnight stop in Alberta had to be cancelled. This year's route includes both the extra night in Nipika, which was popular with riders, along with a return to the Crowsnest Pass region of Southwestern Alberta.

The heavy snow season in 2007-2008 has been a mixed blessing for TransRockies organizers. On the one hand, it means that final route mapping and measurement is just underway but it also means that this should be a relatively safe year for dry forest conditions and that route integrity will be maintained from planning to event.

What is certain is that the final route will include more singletrack thanks to new routing on days one, two, three and six along with a longer day seven route. Final numbers will be released before the event.

Registration for the 2009 event will open the day after this year's event finishes. Past participants will be given priority: 2008 participants can begin 2009 sign-up starting at the closing banquet while other past race participants can sign up online starting on Sunday, August 17. General registration will open on Monday, August 18.

Last year's event was won by Canadians Tim Heemskerk and Roddi Lega of United Cycle Team and Americans Hillary Harrison and Susan Haywood of Trek VW - Giant

For more information, visit

15th Iron Bike coming up this weekend

The 15th edition of the Iron Bike will start this weekend on July 19 and run through July 26 over 650km and eight days and 22,000m of climbing. The race will be without Sandra Klomp, who won Iron Bike from 2004 to 2007.

Giovanni Maiello, who has won the 21st edition of Marathon and Mediofondo Fausto Coppi, will be at the starting line along with 150 racers from 18 different countries and five continents. Team InfoTre Lee Cougan will also be represented by Filippo Barazzuol.

July 19: Entracque (Prologue)
July 20: Entracque - San Damiano Macra
July 21: San Damiano Macra - Jausiers (France)
July 22: Jausiers - Barge
July 23: Barge - Torre Pellice
July 24: Torre Pellice - Pragelato
July 25: Pragelato - Cesana
July 26: Cesana - Sauze d'Oulx

For more information visit

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.