Sánchez, Evans, Basso and Gesink prepare to captain in Spain

ProTour teams Euskaltel-Euskadi, Silence-Lotto, Liquigas, Milram, Rabobank and Fuji-Servetto have all announced their nine-man rosters for the Vuelta a España. The announcement of the team lists means that just six teams remain to be confirmed on the startlist for the Spanish Grand Tour.

As expected, race favourite Samuel Sánchez has been chosen as captain of Euskaltel-Euskadi. Cadel Evans (Silence-Lotto), Ivan Basso (Liquigas) and Robert Gesink (Rabobank) will start the race as the general classification riders for their respective teams.

Like at the Tour de France, Milram has once again selected Gerald Ciolek and Linus Gerdemann as co-captains for the German team.

After missing out on an invitation to the Tour de France, Fuji-Servetto will start their second three-week race of the season. David De La Fuente and Juan Jose Cobo are likely to act as the team's protected riders.

The six top-flight teams will be joined by Spanish Pro Continental squads Andalucia Cajasur, Contentpolis-Ampo and Xacobeo Galicia. The wildcard teams have also now confirmed their line-ups for the race.

Click here for a full up-to-date preliminary start list for the 2009 Vuelta a España

Euskaltel - Euskadi for the Vuelta a España: Samuel Sanchez, Igor Anton, Egoi Martinez, Alan Perez, Ruben Perez, Inaki Isasi, Aitor Hernandez, Markel Irizar and Amets Txurruka.

Silence-Lotto: Cadel Evans, Christophe Brandt, Francis De Greef, Charles Wegelius, Matthew Lloyd, Philippe Gilbert, Olivier Kaisen, Jurgen Roelandts and Mickael Delage.

Liquigas: Ivan Basso, Daniele Bennati, Maciej Bodnar, Kjell Carlström, Roman Kreuziger, Manuel Quinziato, Sylvester Szmyd, Fabio Sabatini and Oliver Zaugg.

Milram: Gerald Ciolek, Linus Gerdemann, Christian Knees, Dominik Roels, Thomas Rohregger, Matthias Russ, Martin Velits, Paul Voss and Björn Schröder.

Fuji-Servetto: David De La Fuente, Juan Jose Cobo, Arkaitz Duran, Eros Capecchi, Jesus Del Nero, Fredrik Kessiakoff, Robert Kiserlovski, Benat Intxausti and Davide Vigano.

Andalucia Cajasur: Xavier Tondo, Javier Ramirez, Manuel Calvente, Jesus Rosendo, Jose Ruiz, Francisco Jose Martinez, Manuel Ortega, José Antonio Lopez Gil and Antonio Piedra.

Xacobeo Galicia: Ezequiel Mosquera David Garcia Da Pena Gustavo Cesar Veloso, Gustavo Dominguez, Serafin Martinez, Gonzalo Rabunal, David Herrero, Alberto Fernandez, Eduard Vorganov.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world - twitter.com/cyclingnewsfeed

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1