Skip to main content

GVA Trofee makes sweeping changes

One of cyclo-cross's most important series, the Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee, just ended it's 25th year with the finale in Oostmalle this weekend, and despite the newspaper dropping from title sponsor to secondary backer, the Trofee will continue in the next season with a new title supporter soon to be announced. In addition to a new name, the rules of the series will undergo sweeping changes.

In a novel concept for cyclo-cross, the overall standings will be based on the total accumulated time of a rider rather than the points gathered by placings in each of the eight races.

Although the top riders in this year's series - Kevin Pauwels, who broke Sven Nys's seven year winning streak this season, Zdenek Stybar and Nys - would likely have had the same positions with these new rules, Pauwels didn't like the idea.

"For me this is not such a good thing," Pauwels said to "Normally I'm not too good in the heavy, muddy 'cross, and in the future will be the biggest differences there. It becomes harder for me to win the overall. It is also makes every cross a fight for every second."

The time losses will be limited to five minutes, according to, with bonus time awarded for the finish and intermediate sprints.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1