Skip to main content

Colombia names track World Cup team

Madison teammates Carlos Uran and Juan E. Arango

Madison teammates Carlos Uran and Juan E. Arango (Image credit: Colombian Cycling Federation / Fedeciclismo Colombia)

The Colombian Cycling Federation selected its track cyclists for round three of the UCI Track World Cup in Cali, Colombia, at the Alcides Nieto Patiño velodrome on December 10-12.

Carlos Ospina, Edwin Avila, Juan E. Arango, Arles Castro, Weimar Roldán, Carlos Urán, Leonardo Narváez, Cristian Tamayo and Fabian Puerta will fill the men's team while the women's team will consist of Milena Salcedo, Lorena Vargas, Elizabeth Agudelo, Natalia Múñoz and Diana Garcìa.

"It's a solid group with experience and youth, and we are ready to defend the title won the previous year," said Jorge Ovidio González, president of the Colombian Federation.

The national team will work under the guidance of vice president Luis Eduer Valenzuela, in Medellin, until December 7 when the riders will move to the capital.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.