Skip to main content

Bartko/Keisse win in Munich

Robert Bartko and Iljo Keisse won the six days in Munich with a slim margin of four points over Erik Zabel and Leif Lampater. It was the last race for Zabel in Munich, where he desperately tried to add his fifth win.

In the end Zabel came up short, but won the prize for most sympathetic rider. Zabel waved good-bye in his final Munich appearance under the standing ovations of the crowd.

Zabel had won the Munich six days in 2006 with Bruno Risi and in 2005 with Robert Bartko, today's winner with Keisse. Zabel also won in 2001 with Silvio Martinello and in 1995 with Etienne de Wilde.