Adam Yates: I was never going to beat Alaphilippe in that Tour de France sprint

NICE FRANCE AUGUST 30 Sprint Arrival Julian Alaphilippe of France and Team Deceuninck QuickStep Celebration Marc Hirschi of Switzerland and Team Sunweb Adam Yates of The United Kingdom and Team Mitchelton Scott during the 107th Tour de France 2020 Stage 2 a 186km stage from Nice Haut Pays to Nice TDF2020 LeTour on August 30 2020 in Nice France Photo by Stuart FranklinGetty Images
(Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) took a highly credible third place on stage 2 of the Tour de France behind stage winner and new yellow jersey Julian Alaphilippe and surprise package Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb). 

The trio broke away from the peloton on the final climb of the Col des Quatre Chemins after Alaphilippe and Hirschi had initially broken away before being joined by Yates. The group worked together on the descent into Nice with Yates leading them into the final few hundred metres as the peloton gave chase.  In a tense finale, Alaphilippe went early and held off the late challenge from Hirschi, with Yates taking third.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.