2021 Vuelta a San Juan cancelled due to coronavirus pandemic

Deceuninck-QuickStep’s Remco Evenepoel is gifted an Argentina national football jersey on the podium
Vuelta a San Juan (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

The 2021 Vuelta a San Juan has been cancelled due to the rising number of coronavirus cases in Argentina. The event had been due to take place from January 24-31.

Chris Froome (Israel Start-Up Nation), Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and João Almeida (Deceuninck-QuickStep) had been among the riders planning to start their seasons at the Vuelta a San Juan, though it became apparent in recent weeks that international riders would not be able to travel to attend the race. Sagan already confirmed on Sunday that he will instead begin his season in late February at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.