Geniez wins Tro Bro Leon at first attempt

Injured Sénéchal close to winning after epic ride at Paris-Roubaix

Alexandre Geniez delivered FDJ's second win of the season as he outsprinted his four breakaway companions on the finishing line of the cobbled and windy Tro Bro Leon in Lannilis.

"I've been off the back at most of the early season races so it's a great pleasure to win here today. It was my first time at the Tro Bro Leon and I wasn't initially scheduled for this race but I love it. It's atypical. The atmosphere is great. The Breton crowd is made of connoisseurs and racing under the sun doesn't happen here every day," he said.

The day before, Geniez finished fourth in the wet and muddy Tour du Finistère. Today he found himself in a front group of eight with 80km to go with Benoît Jarrier and Pierre-Luc Périchon (Bretagne-Séché Environnement), Florian Sénéchal (Cofidis), Gediminas Bagdonas (AG2R-La Mondiale), Jimmy Engoulvent (Europcar), Berden De Vries (Roompot) and Tom Dernies (Wallonie-Bruxelles).

Sénéchal was riding impressively a week after coming 17th in his home race, Paris-Roubaix.

"My crash at half way penalized me badly today," he explained after taking third place while Jarrier was second once again (after 2012).

"I've ridden 100km with blood on my knee and my arm but I maintained my focus. I attacked in the finale but Alexandre was the strongest today anyway."

On the finishing circuit, Geniez and Périchon attacked but it went down to a sprint. "Everyone marked everyone and the two Bretagne riders were getting organised," Geniez said.

"I'm glad I was the fastest. At FDJ, we've had a complicated first part of the season with many mechanicals. The team has changed a little bit and we've been unlucky on several occasions but now we've got the hope that we're on the right track. I'll take a rest before tackling the Tour de Romandie and the Giro d'Italia."

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alexandre Geniez (Fra) FDJ.fr5:07:10 
2Benoit Jarrier (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
3Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solustions Credits  
4Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Team Europcar  
5Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
6Florian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
7Fabien Canal )Fra) Equipe Cycliste de L Armee de Terre  
8Francis Mourey (Fra)  
9Kevin Ledanois (Fra) Bretagne-Seche Environnement  
10Berden De Vries (Ned) Team Roompot  
11Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement0:01:47 
12Alexandre Blain (Fra) Team Marseille 13 Ktm0:01:48 
13Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:02:22 
14Maxime Renault (Fra) Auber 93  
15Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) AG2R La Mondiale  
16Raymond Kreder (Ned) Team Roompot  
17Egoitz Garcia Etxegibel (Spa) Murias Taldea  
18Anthony Turgis (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
19Quentin Pacher (Fra) Equipe Cycliste De L Armee De Terre  
20Romain Combaud (Fra) Equipe Cycliste De L Armee De Terre  
21Jimmy Turgis (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
22Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra)  
23Ignatas Konovalovas (Col) Team Marseille 13 Ktm0:02:25 
24Clément Koretzky (Fra) Team Vorarlberg0:02:28 
25Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar0:02:30 
26Clement Saint Martin (Fra) Team Marseille 13 Ktm0:06:51 
27Alexis Gougeard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
28Gregory Habeaux (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles0:10:01 
29Anthony Maldonado (Fra) Auber 930:14:20 
30Eugenio Bani (Ita) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp0:21:57 
31Rudy Barbier (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:22:48 
32Logan Loader (USA) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp0:22:54 
DNFSteve Chainel (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFChristophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFKenneth Van Bilsen (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFWesley Kreder (Ned) Team Roompot  
DNFDylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team Roompot  
DNFTim Kerkhof (Ned) Team Roompot  
DNFBrian Van Goethem (Ned) Team Roompot  
DNFEtienne Van Empel (Ned) Team Roompot  
DNFKevin De Mesmaeker (Bel) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFJoonas Henttala (Fin) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFNicolas Lefrancois (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFDavid Lozano (Spa) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFAndrea Peron (Ita) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFCharles Planet (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFChristopher Williams (Aus) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFCorentin Cherhal (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFYannick Martinez (Fra) Team Europcar  
DNFJérémy Roy (Fra)  
DNFGert Joeaar (Est) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFArnaud Gerard (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFYauheni Hutarovich (Blr) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFChristophe Laborie (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement  
DNFAnthony Geslin (Fra)  
DNFVincent Jerome (Fra) Team Europcar  
DNFPierre-Roger Latour (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFMaxime Daniel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFJulien Morice (Fra) Team Europcar  
DNFDan Craven (Nam) Team Europcar  
DNFJonas Ahlstrand (Swe) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFLorenzo Manzin (Fra)  
DNFYohann Gene (Fra) Team Europcar  
DNFSamuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFAlexandre Pichot (Fra) Team Europcar  
DNFMurilo Antonio Fischer (Bra)  
DNFNicolas Baldo (Fra) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFEvaldas Siskevicius (Col) Team Marseille 13 Ktm  
DNFOlivier Chevalier (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles  
DNFTom Dernies (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles  
DNFKevin Ista (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles  
DNFAntoine Demoitie (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles  
DNFSébastien Delfosse (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles  
DNFThomas Wertz (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles  
DNFJulien Stassen (Bel) Wallonie - Bruxelles  
DNFJon Ander Insausti Irastorza (Spa) Murias Taldea  
DNFAritz Bagües (Spa) Murias Taldea  
DNFCésar Bihel (Fra) Auber 93  
DNFUnai Intziarte (Spa) Murias Taldea  
DNFJulien El Fares (Fra) Team Marseille 13 Ktm  
DNFVíctor De La Parte (Spa) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFAldo Ino Ilesic (Slo) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFGrischa Janorschke (Bel) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFDaniel Paulus (Ukr) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFNicolas Winter (Sui) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFPatrick Jäger (Ukr) Team Vorarlberg  
DNFMattia Gavazzi (Ita) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp  
DNFRostyslav Zhukovskyi (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp  
DNFVolodymyr Fredyuk (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp  
DNFVolodymyr Kogut (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp  
DNFPaolo Lunardon (Ita) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp  
DNFAnder Barrenetxea (Spa) Murias Taldea  
DNFJulien Duval (Fra) Equipe Cycliste De L Armee De Terre  
DNFTom Devriendt (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFTim De Troyer (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFBoris Dron (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFFrederique Robert (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFLander Seynaeve (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFAdrien Petit (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
DNFGuillaume Levarlet (Fra) Auber 93  
DNFMarco Zamparella (Ita) Amore & Vita - Selle Smp  
DNFThéo Vimpere (Fra) Auber 93  
DNFAlo Jakin (Fra) Auber 93  
DNFDavid Menut (Fra) Auber 93  
DNFYoann Paillot (Fra) Team Marseille 13 Ktm  
DNFAlexis Bodiot (Fra) Equipe Cycliste De L Armee De Terre  
DNFBenjamin Giraud (Fra) Team Marseille 13 Ktm  
DNFKevin Lebreton (Fra) Equipe Cycliste De L Armee De Terre  
DNFRomain Le Roux (Fra) Equipe Cycliste De L Armee De Terre  
DNFBenoît Sinner (Fra) Equipe Cycliste De L Armee De Terre  
DNFJulien Antomarchi (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFTimothy Dupont (Bel) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFRudy Kowalski (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFJeremy Leveau (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFDieter Bouvry (Bel) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFBaptiste Planckaert (Bel) Roubaix Lille Metropole  
DNFRémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Team Marseille 13 Ktm  
DNFFrederik Backaert (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFSteven Tronet (Fra) Auber 93  

Related Articles

Back to top