TechPowered By

More tech

Superprestige Gavere 2009

Date range:
November 15, 2009

November 15, Women:

Compton rules in Gavere

Cycling News
November 15, 2009, 19:21 GMT,
November 16, 2009, 14:32 GMT

USA 'cross wins ahead of Vos

Katie Compton (Planet Bike) celebrates her race win.

Katie Compton (Planet Bike) celebrates her race win.

view thumbnail gallery

American Katie Compton (Planet Bike) took her 11th win of the season on Sunday at the Superprestige race, winning in Gavere for the third year in a row.

World Champion Marianne Vos was second at just 56 seconds while another favorite, Daphny Van Den Brand ( was third at 1:43.

The opening round of the women's Superprestige series tested the riders with thick mud all along the undulating course. Van Den Brand took the lead on the first lap as Compton, Vos and Belgian Sanne Cant formed the chasing group.

The American waited until the second lap to make her move, then powered up to the Dutch champion's wheel, leaving Vos chasing behind.

Compton surged on the steep, muddy run-up and left Van Den Brand behind and soloed for the remainder of the race to victory.

Van Den Brand and Vos chased together until the World Champion dislodged Van Den Brand to claim second.

Elite women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Katherine Compton (USA) 0:41:13  
2 Marianne Vos (Ned) 0:00:56  
3 Daphny Van Den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.NL 0:01:43  
4 Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 0:02:59  
5 Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) ZZPR.NL 0:03:50  
6 Linda Van Rijen (Ned) 0:04:44  
7 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Rendementhypo Cycling Team 0:06:19  
8 Gabriella Day (GBr) 0:06:27  
9 Sophie De Boer (Ned) 0:07:08  
10 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) 0:07:35  
11 Veerle Ingels (Bel) Zannata-Champion System 0:07:41  
12 Nancy Bober (Bel) Rendementhypo Cycling Team 0:08:58  
13 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) 0:09:47  
14 Christine Vardaros (USA) Zannata-Champion System 0:10:25  
-1lap Lana Verberne (Ned)    
-1lap Ilona Meter (Ned) WV Eemland    
-1lap Katrien Vermeiren (Bel) Emversport International C. T. VZW    
-1lap Iris Ockeloen (Ned)    
-1lap Ellen Van Loy (Bel)    
-1lap Rebecca Talen (Ned)    
-1lap Katrien Thijs (Bel) Edegem Bicycle Club V.Z.W.    
-2laps Sophie Borra (Ned)    
-2laps Vicki Thomas (Can)    
-2laps Steffy Van Den Haute (Bel) Avia Cycling Team    
-2laps Kim Van Renterghem (Bel) KSC Dendersteek Labiekes    
-2laps Ilse Vandekinderen (Bel)    
-3laps Jo Blanchaert (Bel) WT Morel Vandeputte VZW De Pinte-Zingem    
-3laps Sharon Defoor (Bel)    
-3laps Maaike Lanssens (Bel) WC De Molenspurters Meulebeke