New Zealand's Shanks wins women's individual pursuit

Defeats Houvenaghel in the final, Ankudinoff wins bronze

Alison Shanks celebrated her second rainbow jersey with an emphatic victory in the individual pursuit to seal New Zealand's most successful ever showing at the Track World Championships.

Shanks dominated her final of the 3000m individual pursuit over old adversary Wendy Houvenaghel (GBR) to repeat the world championship title won in the same event in 2009.

Shanks, who set a new personal best of 3:27.268 to top the qualifying positions, was in front from the second lap. She stretched the gap to 1.5 seconds at the 2000m mark and was in complete control from that point, winning in 3:30.199 on the slower track, with the Northern Irish rider more than two seconds behind.

"When they came out with so many fast times in qualifying I thought man I have to make a PB just to make the final. I was absolutely stoked with my rides today," Shanks said.

"I've been world champ before but it is so hard to get. Once you have had that feeling once, you want it again even more.

"My rides in the TP (team pursuit) showed I had good form. All the data pointed to that but it was a matter of putting it out there. I haven't been focussing on the individual pursuit so it was a little bit of an unknown but my legs felt great today.

"It was totally like a home crowd. There were so many Kiwis that came over and gave me so much support.”


Gold Medal Race
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alison Shanks (New Zealand)0:03:30.199 
2Wendy Houvenaghel (Great Britain)0:03:32.340 
Bronze Medal Race
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ashlee Ankudinoff (Australia)0:03:33.593 
2Amy Cure (Australia)0:03:33.642 
Qualifying results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alison Shanks (New Zealand)0:03:27.268 
2Wendy Houvenaghel (Great Britain)0:03:27.842 
3Amy Cure (Australia)0:03:28.474 
4Ashlee Ankudinoff (Australia)0:03:28.869 
5Tara Whitten (Canada)0:03:30.407 
6Joanna Rowsell (Great Britain)0:03:31.187 
7Vilija Sereikaite (Lithuania)0:03:33.612 
8Elizaveta Bochkareva (Ukraine)0:03:34.471 
9Caroline Ryan (Ireland)0:03:34.515 
10Jaime Nielsen (New Zealand)0:03:35.286 
11Jennie Reed (United States Of America)0:03:35.359 
12Lauren Ellis (New Zealand)0:03:37.925 
13Vera Koedooder (Netherlands)0:03:38.099 
14Venera Absalyamova (Russian Federation)0:03:39.456 
15Katarzyna Pawlowska (Poland)0:03:39.519 
16Eugenia Bujak (Poland)0:03:39.610 
17Madeleine Sandig (Germany)0:03:40.156 
18Marlies Mejias Garcia (Cuba)0:03:40.371 
19Maki Tabata (Japan)0:03:44.501 
20Minami Uwano (Japan)0:03:44.644 
21Svetlana Pauliukaite (Lithuania)0:03:44.646 
22Wan Yiu Wong (Hong Kong, China)0:03:47.976 


Related Articles

Back to top