Viviani wins in Belgium

Liquigas-Doimo strikes again in Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke

Italy’s Elia Viviani continued his successful transition from the track to road racing during his first season as a professional with victory in the Binche-Tournai-Binche/Memorial Frank Vandenbroucke race in Belgium.

Viviani used his track pursuiting speed and fast finish to win the Memorial Pantani race in Italy recently and again used his brilliant form to surge past late attackers Jakob Fuglsang (Saxo Bank) and Rob Ruijgh (Vacansoleil) in sight of the line and win by a second. It is his third win of his debut season as a professional with Liquigas-Doimo after also winning a stage at the Presidential Tour of Turkey.

“It was a tough finishing circuit, with a few short climbs and sections of cobbles. My teammates were fundamental in helping me win. They chased down the moves and then I went across to the two attackers with four hundred metres to go, anticipating the sprint; it was the only way to win,” Vivani said.

“My experience from the track has helped me a lot and thanks to my excellent form I’ve built up in the last few months, I’m able to give it everything. I’m really happy with my success and can’t wait for the next race. I’ll never get tired of trying to win races.”

Full Results
1Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo4:36:14 
2Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Team Saxo Bank0:00:01 
3Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
4Gert Steegmans (Bel) Team Radioshack  
5Gérald Ciolek (Ger) Team Milram  
6Jonas Aaen Jorgensen (Den) Team Saxo Bank  
7Raymond Kreder (Ned) Garmin - Transitions  
8Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
9Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Team Katusha  
10Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
11Frédéric Amorison (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
12Benjamin Verraes (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
13Gerben Mijnheer Lowik (Ned) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
14Timothy Dupont (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
15Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
16Maxime Vantomme (Bel) Team Katusha  
17Nikolas Maes (Bel) Quick Step  
18Alexandre Pichot (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
19Reinier Honig (Ned) Acqua & Sapone  
20Gilles Devillers (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol  
21Jérom Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
22Rafai Chtioui (Tun) Acqua & Sapone  
23Dirk Bellemakers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet  
24Kristof Goddaert (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale  
25Adrien Petit (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
26Grégory Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
27Andrea Piechele (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
28Mathieu Claude (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
29Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
30Romain Zingle (Bel) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
31Sébastien Delfosse (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
32Yuriy Krivstov (Ukr) AG2R La Mondiale  
33James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Verandas Willems  
34Laszlo Bodrogi (Fra) Team Katusha  
35Olivier Bonnaire (Fra) Française Des Jeux  
36Marcus Burghardt (Ger) BMC Racing Team  
37Geert Verheyen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
38Jérémy Roy (Fra) Française Des Jeux  
39Davy Commeyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
40Thomas Leezer (Ned) Rabobank  
41Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
42Markel Irizar Aranburu (Spa) Team Radioshack  
43Aristide Ratti (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
44Nico Sijmens (Bel) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne  
45Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
46Alessandro Fantini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
47Sven Jodts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:00:18 
48Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick Step0:00:20 
49Damien Gaudin (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
50Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank  
51Timothy Duggan (USA) Garmin - Transitions  
52Wim De Vocht (Bel) Team Milram0:00:26 
53Arnaud Gerard (Fra) Française Des Jeux0:00:28 
54Matthieu Spriek (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom  
55Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
56Thomas Degand (Bel) Verandas Willems  
57Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram  
58Jens Voigt (Ger) Team Saxo Bank  
59Frank Hoj (Den) Team Saxo Bank  
60Tim Declercq (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
61Sjef De Wilde (Bel) Verandas Willems  
62Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Quick Step  
63Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Quick Step  
64Stijn Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:00:33 
65Mathieu Teychenne (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
66Sven Van Den Houte (Bel) Verandas Willems0:00:51 
67Simon Zahner (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
68Jeffry Louder (USA) BMC Racing Team  
69Andy Cappelle (Bel) Verandas Willems  
70Bart Dockx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
71Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Rabobank  
72Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
73José Luis Rubiera Vigil (Spa) Team Radioshack  
74Juraj Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo0:01:23 
75Nikolay Trusov (Rus) Team Katusha0:01:25 
76Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo0:01:27 
77Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
78Maciej Paterski (Pol) Liquigas-Doimo  
79Steven De Neef (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht0:01:45 
80Thomas Damuseau (Fra) Skil - Shimano0:02:00 
81Matthew Busche (USA) Team Radioshack0:02:06 
82Floris Goesinnen (Ned) Skil - Shimano0:02:18 


Related Articles

Back to top