Tour de l'Avenir course unveiled

Wednesday morning, organisers of the Tour de l'Avenir unveiled the course of the 44th edition...

Wednesday morning, organisers of the Tour de l'Avenir unveiled the course of the 44th edition schedule for September 6-15. In the presence of Daniel Gilles, vice-president in charge of sports in the Brittany area, sporting director Jean-François Pescheux detailed the new stages of the event that will once again be contested by national teams. As part of the return to this approach, which was abandoned in 1980, the countries will be selected based on the results claimed in the Nations Cup, in which the Tour de l'Avenir will be a sort of grand finale.

Elite Under 23 riders will be invited for a prestigious start on the island of Bell-Ile-en-Mer, just like the 2007 Tour de France. 21 teams of six riders each will start the first stage on the island before returning to the continent for a total of 1436.5km throughout the race.

Schedule
Thursday, September 6: Stage 1: Belle-Ile-en-Mer (150.5 km)
Friday, September 7: Stage 2: Quiberon ­ St-Jean-la-Poterie (164.5 km)
Saturday, September 8: Stage 3: Pipriac ­ Cholet (138 km)
Sunday, September 9: Stage 4: Cholet ­ Contres (211 km)
Monday, September 10: Stage 5: Sassay ­ Sassay (24 km, time trial)
Tuesday, September 11: Stage 6: Contres ­ St-Amand-Montrond (143.5 km)
Wednesday, September 12: Stage 7: Cérilly ­ Super-Besse (175 km)
Thursday, September 13: Stage 8: Besse et St-Anastaise ­ Brioude (134 km)
Friday, September 14: Stage 9: Chomelix ­ Craponne-sur-Arzon (148 km)
Saturday, September 15: Stage 10: Craponne-sur-Arzon ­ St-Flour (148 km)

Back to top