Movistar first to roll in Tirreno-Adriatico team time trial

Nibali's Astana team last out of the gate

The 2016 edition of Tirreno-Adriatico gets underway on Wednesday with a flat, fast 22.7km team time trial on the Lido di Camaiore, and Alejandro Valverde's Movistar squad will be the first team down the ramp at 1:45 local time, followed five minutes later by the Tinkoff Team of world champion Peter Sagan.

Mark Cavendish, the recently crowned Madison World Champion, will head off with Dimension Data as the third team to start.

Team time trial specialists Orica-GreenEdge will look to top the leaderboard as the ninth squad to take to the course. They'll be up against a determined Etixx-Quickstep team led by Tony Martin, Team Sky captained by world champion Vasil Kiryienka, and TTT world champions BMC Racing, who are counting on Americans Tejay van Garderen and Taylor Phinney.

Although playing down his chances for an overall victory, Vincenzo Nibali will have the advantage as Astana is the last team to start, chasing Androni Giocattoli.

Tirreno-Adriatico TTT start times

1Movistar Team13:45:00 
2Tinkoff Team13:50:00 
3Dimension Data13:55:00 
4Team LottoNl-Jumbo14:00:00 
5CCC Sprandi Polkowice14:05:00 
8Cannondale Pro Cycling14:20:00 
10Team Katusha14:30:00 
11Caja Rural-Seguros RGA14:35:00 
12IAM Cycling14:40:00 
13Bardiani CSF14:45:00 
14Etixx - Quick-Step14:50:00 
15Team Giant-Alpecin14:55:00 
16Bora-Argon 1815:00:00 
17Team Sky15:05:00 
18BMC Racing Team15:10:00 
19Lotto Soudal15:15:00 
20Lampre - Merida15:20:00 
21AG2R La Mondiale15:25:00 
22Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec15:30:00 
23Astana Pro Team15:35:00 

Related Articles

Back to top