Kristoff now fourth on WorldTour rankings after Milan-San Remo win

Betancur remains overall leader, Movistar new best team

Eighth in last year's Milan-San Remo, 12 months on Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha) has triumphed in the first Monument of 2014, out-sprinting a group of 27 riders in what is easily his biggest win to date. As a result, Kristoff jumps to fourth overall on the latest UCI WorldTour standings.

A bronze medallist in the 2012 Olympics, former national champion and already a winner of a stage of the Tour of Oman in 2014, Kristoff timed his final charge for the line in the rain-soaked streets of San Remo to perfection. Shooting past Fabian Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing), second for a third time, and Team Sky's Ben Swift - who placed third - Kristoff said his victory represented a new high point in his career.

"[Teammate] Luca Paolini helped me enormously in the finale, but I really didn't think more than a top ten finish was possible," Kristoff said. "Even if a sprint after 300 kilometres is very different to a normal sprint, I couldn't believe I'd won until I crossed the line. It's absolutely fantastic."

While the top three riders in the UCI WorldTour - Carlos Alberto Betancur (AG2R La Mondiale) with 114, Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) with 114 and Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) with 112 - remain with unchanged placings and unchanged points totals, Kristoff has gained no fewer than 59 spots and is now fourth with 101 points.

He is not the only Classics rider or sprinter to make significant progress towards the highest placings thanks to Milan-San Remo: Cancellara now lies in seventh with 84 points, Swift takes his first UCI WorldTour points to move into 12th, and Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma - Quick Step), who was fifth in the race, moves up from 33rd to 17th.

In the nations classification, Australia remains in the lead with 336 points, but Spain has closed the gap and moved up from third to second overall with 266 points. Colombia dropped from second to third with 248 points.

Unsurprising, Norway is the biggest mover in the WorldTour nations ranking, up from 22nd to eighth, while Great Britain, gaining five places to go up to the sixth place overall, has also made considerable progress.

A familiar name is back in the top spot of the teams classification. Movistar, the 2013 WorldTour team classification winner, takes over the lead from AG2R La Mondiale with 218 points. The French squad is now second at 216 points, while Lampre-Merida remains in third with 191 points. Trek Factory Racing and Team Sky, meanwhile, both profit from Milan-San Remo to leapfrog past the opposition - Trek Factory Racing into fifth with 168 points and Team Sky, also with 168, in sixth.

The impact of the Classics on the UCI WorldTour has already been considerable, even though the bulk of one-day racing this spring is yet to come. And in five days time, at the E3 Harelbeke in Belgium, the Classics racers will have their next big opportunity to gain both points and places in the UCI WorldTour.

WorldTour - Individuals
1Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) AG2R La Mondiale114pts
2Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica GreenEdge114 
3Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo112 
4Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha101 
5Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team88 
6Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida88 
7Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing84 
8Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team84 
9Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida83 
10Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ.fr78 
11Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo71 
12Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky70 
13Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team68 
14Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky67 
15Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale61 
16Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa) Movistar Team60 
17Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team56 
18Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin Sharp55 
19Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team52 
20Julián David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Trek Factory Racing50 
21Robert Gesink (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team42 
22Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar42 
23Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale40 
24Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team33 
25Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica GreenEdge32 
26Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Trek Factory Racing30 
27Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky25 
28Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Team Katusha22 
29Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida20 
30Simon Spilak (Slo) Team Katusha20 
31André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol18 
32John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano14 
33Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale13 
34Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Belisol12 
35Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Garmin Sharp12 
36Peter Velits (Svk) BMC Racing Team10 
37Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team10 
38Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ.fr8 
39Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar Team6 
40Moreno Hofland (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team6 
41Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ.fr5 
42Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Belisol4 
43Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Team Sky4 
44Egor Silin (Rus) Team Katusha4 
45Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Belisol4 
46Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano4 
47Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing4 
48Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team4 
49Mark Renshaw (Aus) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team4 
50Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team4 
51Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica GreenEdge4 
52Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team3 
53Simon Clarke (Aus) Orica GreenEdge2 
54Benjamin King (USA) Garmin Sharp2 
55Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky2 
56Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin Sharp2 
57Gianni Meersman (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
57Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
59Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale2 
60Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
61Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team1 
62Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing Team1 
63Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team1 
64Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEdge1 
65Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano1 
66Tony Hurel (Fra) Team Europcar1 
67Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale1 
68Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
69Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar1 
70Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team1 
71Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano1 
72Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale1 
73Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp1 
WorldTour - Nations
6Great Britain155 
7Czech Republic104 
14South Africa32 
22United States3 
WorldTour - Teams
1Movistar Team218pts
2AG2R La Mondiale216 
5Trek Factory Racing168 
6Team Sky168 
7Orica GreenEdge153 
8Team Katusha147 
9Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team101 
10BMC Racing Team100 
12Garmin Sharp72 
13Astana Pro Team64 
14Belkin-Pro Cycling Team51 
15Team Europcar44 
16Lotto Belisol38 
17Team Giant-Shimano20 

Related Articles

Back to top