Canada sends larger crew to next two MTB World Cups

Nove Mesto and La Bresse final rounds for Olympic qualification

A larger crew of Canadian mountain bikers will be racing the next two UCI Mountain Bike World Cup events and hoping to score some very precious points for Canada in the UCI Olympic qualification process.

There are two events left on the Olympic qualifying calendar for the 2012 Olympic Games in London: UCI World Cups in Nove Mesto Na Morave, Czech Republic, and in La Bresse, France.

Canada is ranked comfortably in first place of the women's UCI Olympic Nations Ranking, and in 13th place of the men's ranking with 1633 points. According to the UCI Olympic selection protocol, countries ranked sixth through 13th will receive two spots on the start line of the men's Olympic race, while Canada has secured the maximum two spots for the women's Olympic race.

Catharine Pendrel (Team Luna Pro) is the reigning world champion in the discipline, and is currently holding the World Cup leader's jersey, sitting on top of the 2012 UCI World Cup standings. Emily Batty (Team Subaru-Trek) is sitting in fourth place of the UCI World Cup standings after a medal-winning performance in Pietermaritzburg, while Marie-Hélène Prémont (Rocky Mountain) is ranked in 19th place.

A total of 18 Canadian athletes will race these World Cups, either representing the Canadian National Teams or their respective professional cycling teams, in the elite and U23 categories. UCI Olympic qualifications points are awarded to the nation of the competing riders in the elite category.

The UCI World Cup in Nove Meso Na Morave will be held from May 11-13, while the UCI World Cup in France will be held the following weekend, from May 18-20.

Canadian athletes racing the UCI Mountain Bike World Cups in Czech, France

Elite men
Geoff Kabush (Scott-3RoxRacing)
Cam Jette (Scott-3RoxRacing)
Tyson Wagler (Scott-3RoxRacing)
Adam Morka
Max Plaxton (Team Specialized Racing USA)
Derek Zandstra (Scott-3RoxRacing)

Elite women
Amanda Sin (Scott-3RoxRacing)
Mikaela Kofman (Scott-3RoxRacing)
Marie-Helene Premont (Rocky Mountain Bicycles Factory Team)
Catharine Pendrel (Team Luna Pro)
Catherine Vipond (Canadian National Team)
Emily Batty (Team Subaru-Trek)
Jean Ann Berkenpas (Canadian National Team

Under 23 men
Evan Guthrie (Canadian National Team)
Evan McNeely (Canadian National Team)
Etienne Moreau (Team Xprezo-Borsea)

Under 23 women
Laura Bietola (Canadian National Team)
Andreanne Pichette (Canadian National Team)

Related Articles

Back to top