Scheldeprijs Women 2022

Latest News from the Race

Scheldeprijs Women 2022 overview

Scheldeprijs Women 2022 2nd Edition Schoten Schoten 1381 km 06042022 Lorena Wiebes NED Team DSM photo Rafa GomezSprintCyclingAgency2022

Lorena Wiebes of Team DSM won the 2022 Scheldeprijs Women to make it two consecutive titles (Image credit: Sprint Cycling Agency)

Wiebes sprints to second Scheldeprijs Women victory

Defending champion Lorena Wiebes of Team DSM won the Scheldeprijs women’s race for a second consecutive year on Wednesday in Schoten. She sprinted to the line well clear of 19 other riders, Chiara Consonni (Valcar-Travel & Service) taking second place and Rachele Barbieri (Liv Racing Xstra) in third.

It was the 40th career victory for Wiebes, and her fourth time on the top step of the podium in a one-day race this season, following wins at the GP Oetingen, Ronde van Drenthe, and Nokere Koerse.

The route for this year's Scheldeprijs was 138 kilometres that started and finished in Schoten, and offered three finishing circuits of 17km each. It is the only event on Flanders Classics’ spring calendar that remains at a 1.1-level, which allows second-tier women’s teams to secure spots on the starting line.

Two Continental riders were involved in the early breakaway that included Megan Armitage (IBCT), Abi Smith (EF Education-TIBCO-SVB) and Simone Boilard (St Michel-Auber93). The breakaway made it onto the local circuits but the threesome were caught with 25km to go as Team DSM set a quick pace for their sprinter and defending champion.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Results - top 10
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lorena Wiebes (Ned) Team DSM Women 3:21:56
2Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar-Travel & Service
3Rachele Barbieri (Ita) Liv Racing Xstra
4Georgia Baker (Aus) BikeExchange-Jayco Women
5Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Movistar Team Women
6Chloe Hosking (Aus) Trek-Segafredo Women
7Julie De Wilde (Bel) Plantur-Pura
8Letizia Borghesi (Ita) EF Education-TIBCO-SVB
9Anna Trevisi (Ita) UAE Team ADQ
10Charlotte Kool (Ned) Team DSM Women

Scheldeprijs women 2022 news and features

Scheldeprijs Women 2022 teams

  • EF Education-TIBCO-SVB
  • Liv Racing Xstra
  • Movistar
  • Team BikeExchange-Jayco
  • Team DSM
  • Trek-Segafredo
  • UAE Team ADQ
  • AG Insurance - NXTG
  • Andy Schleck-CP NVST-Immo Losch
  • Arkea Pro Cycling Team
  • Bingoal Casino-Chevalmeire-Van Eyck Sport
  • Certizit-WNT Pro Cycling
  • St Krush Tunap Pro Cycling
  • IBCT
  • Le Col Wahoo
  • Lotto Soudal Ladies
  • Massi Tactic Women’s Team
  • Multum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team
  • Parkhotel Valkenburg
  • Plantur-Pura
  • Proximus-Alphamotorhomes-Doltcini CT
  • St Michel-Auber 93
  • Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime
  • Team Coop-HiTec Products
  • Valcar-Travel & Service


Related Features