UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships 2017

Latest News from the Race

Racing got underway at the 2017 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships Saturday in Bieles, Luxembourg with a trio of exciting races on a tricky, punchy course.

Great Britain nailed a podium sweep in the junior men's race that opened the event. Thomas Pidcock took the win, with compatriots Daniel Tulett and Ben Turner in second and third.

Annemarie Worst delivered an under-23 women's title for the Netherlands next, pulling away from runner-up Ellen Noble (USA) in the final lap. Great Britain's Evie Richards nabbed third.

The elite women closed out the day's racing with a down-to-the-wire thriller that saw Belgium's Sanne Cant bring home her first career world title just ahead of seven-time champion Marianne Vos after a thrilling, back-and-forth final lap. Katerina Nash of the Czech Republic rounded out the podium in third.

On the final day, Dutch rider Joris Nieuwenhuis won the men's U23 race ahead of Spain's Felipe Orts Lloret and fellow Dutch rider Sieben Wouters. In the elite men's race, Belgium's Wout Van Aert successfully defended his rainbow jersey after rival Matthieu van der Poel (Netherlands) flatted at a crucial point in the race. Van der Poel was second, followed by Belgium's Kevin Pauwels.

Brief results - junior men

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Thomas Pidcock (GBr) Great Britain0:41:24
2Daniel Tulett (GBr) Great Britain0:00:38
3Ben Turner (GBr) Great Britain0:00:44
4Loris Rouiller (Swi) Switzerland0:00:52
5Antoine Benoist (Fra) France0:01:23
6Jelle Camps (Bel) Belgium0:01:37
7Timo Kielich (Bel) Belgium0:01:55
8Toon Vandebosch (Bel) Belgium0:01:56
9Denzel Stephenson (USA) United States Of America0:02:07
10Niklas Markl (Ger) Germany0:02:10


Brief results - U23 women

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annemarie Worst (Netherlands)0:43:47
2Ellen Noble (United States Of America)0:00:10
3Evie Richards (Great Britain)0:00:26
4Laura Verdonschot (Belgium)0:01:08
5Manon Bakker (Netherlands)0:01:41
6Nikola Noskova (Czech Republic)0:01:44
7Ceylin Del Carmen Alvarado (Netherlands)0:02:17
8Emma White (United States Of America)0:02:37
9Malene Degn (Denmark)0:02:45
10Inge Van Der Heijden (Netherlands)0:02:57


Brief results - elite women

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Belgium)0:43:06
2Marianne Vos (Netherlands)0:00:01
3Katerina Nash (Czech Republic)0:00:21
4Lucinda Brand (Netherlands)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Maghalie Rochette (Canada)0:00:36
6Eva Lechner (Italy)0:00:53
7Christine Majerus (Luxembourg)0:01:21
8Ellen Van Loy (Belgium)0:01:25
9Nikki Brammeier (Great Britain)0:01:31
10Kaitlin Antonneau (United States Of America)0:01:46


Brief Results - U23 men

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joris Nieuwenhuis (Netherlands)0:53:58
2Felipe Orts Lloret (Spain)0:01:23
3Sieben Wouters (Netherlands)0:01:29
4Thijs Aerts (Belgium)0:01:34
5Nicolas Cleppe (Belgium)0:01:38
6Joshua Dubau (France)0:01:56
7Gioele Bertolini (Italy)0:02:03
8Simon Andreassen (Denmark)0:02:28
9Quinten Hermans (Belgium)0:02:30
10Kelvin Bakx (Netherlands)Row 9 - Cell 2


Brief Results - elite men

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Belgium)1:02:08
2Mathieu Van Der Poel (Netherlands)0:00:44
3Kevin Pauwels (Belgium)0:02:09
4Lars Van Der Haar (Netherlands)0:02:52
5Corne Van Kessel (Netherlands)0:03:09
6Laurens Sweeck (Belgium)0:03:29
7Michael Boroš (Czech Republic)0:03:47
8Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium)0:04:02
9Simon Zahner (Switzerland)0:04:08
10Sascha Weber (Germany)0:04:29


Top News on the Race

Related Features