La Fleche Wallonne Feminine 2017

Latest News from the Race

Van der Breggen wins third consecutive la Fleche Wallonne

Anna van der Breggen (Boels Dolmans) staked her claim as Queen of la Fleche Wallonne Feminine by winning her third consecutive edition in 2017. The 27-year-old Dutchwoman forged clear on the lower slopes of the finishing Mur de Huy climb and won by 16 seconds over teammate Lizzie Deignan and 25 seconds over Katarzyna Niewiadoma (WM3 Pro Cycling).

Van der Breggen bridged to Deignan and Niewiadoma, who had jumped away from the peloton on Cote de Cherave, and then somped her way clear before the final climb of the Mur de Huy started.  

2017 la Fleche Wallonne Feminine top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam3:21:06
2Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:16
3Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) WM3 Pro Cycling0:00:25
4Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica Scott Women0:00:43
5Shara Gillow (Aus) FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00:49
6Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:00:54
7Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb Women0:00:56
8Janneke Ensing (Ned) Alé Cipollini0:00:58
9Katrin Garfoot (Aus) Orica Scott Women0:01:00
10Flavia Oliveira (Bra) Lares-Waowdeals0:01:02


Anna van der Breggen sealed her second straight win at La Flèche Wallonne last year after dropping Evelyn Stevens with a stinging attack on the Mur de Huy. The Dutchwoman goes into the 20th edition of the race as the overwhelming favourite after a solo win at the renewed Amstel Gold Race. 

Van der Breggen will be in the colours of Boels Dolmans this season, her big rivals over the past two seasons, and will be working with Lizzie Deignan and Megan Guarnier to complete the hat-trick. It is hard to see anyone getting in her way but there will be some strong competition for Van der Breggen. Kasia Niewiadoma missed the podium last season but she is on great form at the moment for WM3 Pro Cycling. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Cervelo-Bigla) will be looking for a return to the rostrum after a solid Amstel Gold, as will former winner Pauline Ferrand-Prevot. 

Coryn Rivera goes into the race as the WorldTour leader but her Sunweb team will be looking to Sabrina Stultiens to deliver the goods. One rider that won't be on the start line is Elisa Longo Borghini, who fell ill earlier in the week. Wiggle-High5 will instead pool their resources behind Claudia Lichtenberg. 

2016 Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team3:50:36
2Evelyn Stevens (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:08
3Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:22
4Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:23
5Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High50:00:25
6Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Canyon SRAM Racing0:00:38
7Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High50:00:43
8Katrin Garfoot (Aus) Orica-AIS0:00:45
9Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:48
10Jolanda Neff (Swi) Servetto FootonRow 9 - Cell 2

2016 Highlights  

Start list

La Fleche Wallonne Feminine 2016La Fleche Wallonne Feminine 2015 l La Fleche Wallonne Feminine 2014 l La Fleche Wallonne Feminine 2013

Top News on the Race

Related Features