Fleche Wallonne 2019

Latest News from the Race

Alaphilippe defends his Fleche Wallonne crown

Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) won his second consecutive La Fleche Wallonne Wednesday, taking victory at the midweek Classic in a two-up sprint ahead of Astana's Jakob Fuglsang at the top of the Mur de Huy.

The race played out in similar fashion to previous years, with a breakaway going away early and animating the the action for most of the day. The peloton brought back the escapees inside 30km to go and new attacks began to launch. It was all for naught, however, as the big teams kept things in check for their finishers to take over at the bottom of the Mur de Huy.

Five-time La Fleche Wallonne winner and current world champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) finished outside the top 10 in 11th, while three-time world champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) was dropped and abandoned the race.

2019 Fleche Wallonne top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep4:55:14
2Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro TeamRow 1 - Cell 2
3Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates0:00:06
4Bjorg Lambrecht (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:08
5Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-HansgroheRow 4 - Cell 2
6Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-SegafredoRow 5 - Cell 2
7Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-HansgroheRow 6 - Cell 2
8Michael Matthews (Aus) Team SunwebRow 7 - Cell 2
9Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:11
10Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Dimension DataRow 9 - Cell 2

Top News on the Race

Related Features