Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian 2019

Latest News from the Race

Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian 2019 - Overview

Held annually off the heels of the Tour de France, the 2019 Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian marks a return to one-day races on August 3 in Spain. The race attracts riders who can transfer peak Grand Tour from onto a one-day hilly parcours.

This year's parcours starts and finishes in Donostia-San Sebastián. At 227.3 kilometres it includes 5,268.7 metres of cumulative elevation thanks to climbs; Meaga (cat 3), Iturburu (cat 2), Alkiza (cat 3), Jaizkibel (cat 1), Erlaitz (cat 1), Mendizorrotz (cat 2) and Murgil (cat 2).

In the 2018 edition of Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian, Julian Alaphilippe (QuickStep) won the race ahead of Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) and Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ). Other more recent winners include Michal Kwiatkowski, Mollema, Adam Yates, Alejandro Valverde, Tony Gallopin and Luis Leon Sanchez.

After spending 14 days in the yellow jersey at the Tour de France, Alaphilippe is set to return to the Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian, wearing bib no. 1, with a strong Deceuninck-QuickStep team that includes Enric Mas.

Tour de France winner Egan Bernal (Team Ineos) will be on the start line with his compatriot Ivan Sosa, making a tough-to-beat duo. Bernal had to undergone surgery on his nose and mouth after a crash at last year's Clasica San Sebastian.

Other riders to watch on the start line will include Mollema, Michael Woods (EF Education First), Mikel Landa and Valverde (Movistar), Adam and Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), Greg Van Avermaet (CCC), Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal), Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates) and George Bennet (Jumbo-Visma). 

2018 Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian - Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors6:03:45
2Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-SegafredoRow 1 - Cell 2
3Anthony Roux (Fra) Groupama-FDJ0:00:16
4Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions CreditsRow 4 - Cell 2
6Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b CannondaleRow 5 - Cell 2
7Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-MeridaRow 6 - Cell 2
8Robert Gesink (Ned) LottoNL-JumboRow 7 - Cell 2
9Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-JumboRow 8 - Cell 2
10Antwan Tolhoek (Ned) LottoNL-JumboRow 9 - Cell 2


Top News on the Race