Skip to main content

Sastre, Schleck to lead Team CSC in Tour

Carlos Sastre (CSC) in the 2006 Tour

Carlos Sastre (CSC) in the 2006 Tour (Image credit: Jon Devich)

Team CSC announced its nine riders for this year's Tour de France. They include Carlos Sastre, Fränk Schleck, Jens Voigt, Stuart O'Grady, Fabian Cancellara, Inigo Cuesta, Kurt-Asle Arvesen, Christian Vande Velde, and David Zabriskie.

The team's two top overall riders will likely be Carlos Sastre and Fränk Schleck. Schleck won stage four of the Tour de Suisse and took third in Liege-Bastogne-Liege this year. Proven performers Sastre and Schleck finished fourth and eleventh in the 2006 Tour de France.

"As always, it's been a very difficult decision," said manager Kim Andersen. "We have tried to select a broad group of riders in order to make our mark throughout the entire race. In this way we will be able to make a difference in the general classification and at the same time we also have riders, who will be able to go for stage wins in all kinds of terrain. In Sastre and Schleck we have two great contenders for the general classification and of course we will be putting up a fight for the first yellow leader's jersey in London."