Skip to main content

ProTour council changes

The International Cycling Union (UCI)

The International Cycling Union (UCI) (Image credit: Sirotti)

The International Cycling Union (UCI) has announced the new composition of the ProTour council (UPTC). Following the UCI Management Committee meeting on September 23, in Lugano, Switzerland, changes have been made to the UPTC as well as the different UCI commissions.

Amongst the five members of the UPTC that are appointed by the UCI, four memberships have been modified. Felice Gimondi, Miguel Indurain, Rudolf Scharping and Hein Verbruggen will no longer assist the council's president, Vittorio Adorni, but will be replaced by: Roger Legeay, Ramón Mendiburu, Stephen Roche and Erik Zabel.

The council has 12 members, including president Adorni. Two members represent the riders (Dario Cioni, Céric Vasseur), two represent race organisers (Michael Hinz, Charly Mottet), two represent the teams (Roberto Amadio, Jonathan Vaughters) and the remaining five are nominated by the UCI.

The commissions for the Paralympic and Olympic cycling disciplines (road, track, mountain bike, cyclo-cross, BMX and para-cycling) have also been subject to change. Their compositions are available on the UCI website.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1