Skip to main content

Dutch coach picks Beijing trackies

Willy Kanis (Netherlands) beats Clara Sanchez (France)

Willy Kanis (Netherlands) beats Clara Sanchez (France) (Image credit: Mitch Clinton)

The national track coach of the Netherlands, Peter Pieters, announced the preliminary selection for the Beijing Olympic Games on Thursday. The final selection will be announced mid-July. Theo Bos, Teun Mulder and Tim Veldt will make up the Dutch Team Sprint squad, while Bos and Mulder will contest the sprint and keirin with Veldt as a reserve.

In the endurance events, the individual and team pursuits, points race and Madison, Levi Heimans, Jennings Huizinga, Pim Ligthart, Jens Mouris, Peter Schep, Robert Slippens, Wim Stroetinga and Niki Terpstra were named, with Geert Jan Jonkman and Danny Stam reserve.

For the women's sprint, Yvonne Hijgenaar and Willy Kanis will head to China while world champion Marianne Vos will contest the points race.

The Dutch team earned a total of 20 places in the Beijing Games through its performances in the 2007-2008 season, leaving six more names to be filled in.

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Deputy Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. A swimmer in her younger days, Laura made the change to cycling later in life, but was immediately swept up by a huge passion for the sport. Riding for fitness quickly gave way to the competitive urge, and a decade of racing later she can look back on a number of high profile races and say with confidence, "I started". While her racing days are over for the most part, she continues to dabble in cyclo-cross and competing against fellow pathletes on the greenways of Raleigh, North Carolina.