/ Cannondale elite amateur team kicks off 2009

With a balanced combination of experienced veteran riders and proven young talent, the Northeast-based / Cannondale Elite Amateur Cycling team is looking forward to competing throughout the United States in a schedule emphasizing NRC races as well as remaining true to its New England roots. The team is a continuation of the Fiordifrutta team, which was the number one ranked US amateur team in the 2007 NRC team standings.

The team includes Josh Dillon, Dan Timmerman, Matt White, Eric Schildge, Alister Ratcliff, Steve Weller, Nick Keough, Justin Lindine, and Rider-Manager Todd Nordblom. Team leaders include Dillon, White, and Schildge, all of whom have posted top 10 results in US National Championship road events.

Riders kicked off the season with a training camp at Joe's Garage in Haydenville, Massachusetts, on January 10. With two more similar sessions to come before the end of March, the team will be well prepared and ready to dive into a full calendar of racing.

"We're elated to support this team," said Scott Struve, global director of marketing for Cannondale Bicycle Corp. "All racing is exciting, from amateurs to pros, but these guys have a lot of soul, they work hard, and it is rewarding to watch them progress in their cycling careers."

As a continuation of the FiordiFrutta Elite Amateur Cycling Team, the team takes pride in its development of young cyclists. The squad will continue to help riders step up to the next level of cycling.

Past team members who have moved onto successful pro careers include Jonathan Page (Colavita/Sutter Home, Planet Bike), Phil Gaimon (Jelly Belly), Mike Jones (Healthnet), Shawn Milne (Navigators, Healthnet), Justin Spinelli (Saeco, Navigators), Dan Timmerman (Kodak/Sierra Nevada), Mike Cody (Jelly Belly), Matt Svatek (, Mike Dietrich (Kodak/Sierra Nevada), and Phil Wong (Jittery Joes). Team riders who have ridden for the US National Team in Europe include Oliver Stiler-Cote, Shawn Milne, Darby Thomas, Robbie Dapice, Donny Lopez, Matt White, and Johannes Huseby.

Team members have earned more than 13 national titles.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.