Skip to main content

Amets Txurruka and Alan Pérez eliminated on stage 19

Amets Txurruka (Euskatel-Euskadi) finished 4:11 behind Haussler

Amets Txurruka (Euskatel-Euskadi) finished 4:11 behind Haussler (Image credit: Sirotti)

Euskaltel-Euskadi riders Amets Txurruka and Alan Pérez were eliminated from the Tour de France after finishing outside the timecut on stage 19 from Bourgoin Jallieu to Aubenas.

According to Eustaltel-Euskadi, Pérez had developed tendonitis in his right knee several days earlier, while Txurruka was suffering from injuries after a crash on stage 17 to Le Grand Bornand.

The two riders lost contact with the peloton early in stage 19, eventually finishing 30:58 behind the day's winner, Mark Cavendish (Columbia-HTC).

"I am sad not being able to finish the Tour," said Txurruka on the team's website. "I have had a very bad day, with much pain. I could not stand up and I have suffered from the beginning. I was dropped after just six kilometres. It upsets me not to arrive in Paris."

Txurruka, who won the overall combativity prize in the 2007 Tour de France, had been active in this year's race, finishing second on stage 13 into Colmar that was won by Heinrich Haussler (Cervélo TestTeam).

Pérez, 27, had been making his Tour de France debut this year. This year's race was the third participation for Txurruka, 26.