2016 Vuelta a Espana start list

The Vuelta a Espana kicks off this Saturday with a star-studded line-up that will see Chris Froome (Team Sky) go up against Alberto Contador (Tinkoff), Nairo Quintana (Movistar), the USA's Tejay van Garderen (BMC), Esteban Chaves (Orica-Bike Exchange) and Steven Kruisjwijk (LottoNL-Jumbo).

See the official start list here.

This year's Vuelta a Espana will be a race redemption for those who struggled at the Tour de France and for the likes of Andre Talansky, who is looking to get this Grand Tour career back on track in Spain. The American is part of a strong Cannondale-Drapac team that also includes Joe Dombrowski and Davide Formolo.

Other stand-out names include Belgian national champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC), Zdenek Stybar (Etixx-QuickStep), Louis Meintjes (Lampre-Merida), Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo), Britain's High Carthy (Caja Rural) and Simon Gerrans (Orica-BikeExchange).

Adam Hansen (Lotto Soudal) is also set to ride the Vuelta a Espana, further extending his record of consecutive Grand Tours to 16.

This provisional list will be updated when rosters are officially announced by the teams. The final official start list will be issued on the eve of the race.

Cyclingnews will have full coverage of every stage of the Vuelta a Espana with exclusive news and interviews throughout the three weeks of racing.

Watch the complete video to see our full list of Vuelta a Espana contenders, and subscribe here to our Youtube channel.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1