TechPowered By

More tech

Spanish Road Championships 2014

Date range:
June 27-29

June 27, Time trial: Ponferrada 42.3km

Valverde wins Spanish time trial title

Cycling News
June 27, 2014, 16:45 BST,
June 27, 2014, 20:35 BST

Olaberria Dorronsoro repeats as women's champion

The Movistar team swept not just the podium, but the top six places in the Spanish national championship time trial, with Alejandro Valverde claiming his first time trial national title over Ion Izagirre and Jonathan Castroviejo.

Valverde clocked a 58:00 on the 47.1km course, topping Izagirre by nearly a minute. Castroviejo was eight seconds further back, just edging out Jesus Herrada for the final podium spot.

"I'm surprised at this victory," Valverde said. The 34-year-old just returned from his post-Classics break at the Route du Sud, where he finished second overall, but was not expecting to be the best of his country. "We know that Ion does good time trials, and Castro is a great 'croner' and demonstrates it every day. We also have other rivals such as Eloy Teruel and Luis Sánchez León who prepared specifically for this time trial.

"I went well in La Route du Sud after two months without competing, and I think that this effort has given me a good starting point for the Tour de France. To win a time trial of 47km here gives me a lot confidence for July."

Full Results

Elite Men
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:58:00  
2 Ion Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:56  
3 Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:04  
4 Jesús Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:06  
5 Imanol Erviti (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:19  
6 Beñat Intxausti (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:24  
7 Eloy Teruel (Spa) Jamis-Hagens Berman 0:01:47  
8 J Antonio de Segovia (Spa) Froiz 0:02:18  
9 Omar Fraile (Spa) Caja Rural-RGA 0:02:24  
10 Diego Rubio (Spa) Efapel 0:02:37  
11 Jon Larrinaga (Spa) Euskadi 0:03:25  
12 Víctor de la Parte (Spa) Efapel 0:03:34  
13 Igor Merino (Spa) Burgos BH 0:03:36  
14 Garikoitz Bravo (Spa) Efapel 0:03:47  
15 Alberto Torres (Spa) Team Ecuador 0:03:51  
16 Illart Zuazubiskar (Spa) Euskadi 0:03:53  
17 Beñat Txoperena (Spa) Euskadi 0:03:57  
18 David Muntaner (Spa) Active Team 0:03:59  
19 Luis León Sánchez (Spa) Caja Rural-RGA 0:04:05  
20 Marcos Jurado (Spa) Seguros Bilbao 0:04:08  
Elite Women
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Leire Olaberria (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango 0:41:48  
2 Belén López (Spa) Lointek 0:00:24  
3 Anna Ramírez (Spa) Catalunya 0:00:32  
4 Gloria Rodríguez (Spa) Navarra 0:00:55  
5 Rocío Martín (Spa) Semar 0:00:59  
6 Anna Sanchís (Spa) Comunidad Valenciana 0:01:07  
7 Irene Usabiaga (Spa) Euskadi 0:01:23  
8 Loures Oyarbide (Spa) Euskadi 0:02:01  
9 Mayalen Noruega (Spa) Catalunya 0:02:14  
10 Cristina Navarro (Spa) Catalunya 0:02:28  
11 Sheyla Gutiérrez (Spa) La Rioja 0:03:05  
12 Alicia González (Spa) Asturias 0:03:33  
13 Sara García (Spa) Castilla y León 0:04:21  
14 Mª del Mar Solera (Spa) Reyno de Navarra 0:04:28  
15 Ane Iriarte (Spa) Euskadi 0:04:46  
16 Ana López (Spa) Comunidad Madrid 0:05:24  
17 Esther Muñoz (Spa) Comunidad Madrid 0:05:55  
18 Ainhoa Candil (Spa) Castilla y León 0:06:01  
19 Cristina Barrado (Spa) Francisco Pizarro 0:06:34  
20 Elisabet Bru (Spa) Servetto Footon 0:06:54  
21 Raquel Acinas (Spa) Génesis 0:09:02  
22 Ana Fernández (Spa) Francisco Pizarro 0:16:03