Geschke wins GP du Canton d'Argovie

Dillier and Baugnies fill out podium

Simon Geschke (Giant-Shimano) won his first race in three years with a sprint victory over Silvan Dillier (BMC) and Jérôme Baugnies (Wanty - Groupe Gobert) after teammate Georg Preidler controlled the select breakaway of 25-riders which formed on the last of the 12 laps around Gippengen. Geschke had the fastest finish in the bunch to continue the winning ways of Giant-Shimano.

"It is a big relief to win today as I have gone close many times but I haven't had a win since 2011," Geschke said. "It was a tough race with a hard parcours and also a good field but the team was great today and Georg did an awesome job to control at the end.

"My legs were not great at the start of the day but they came round as the race went on and it looks like I have recovered well from the Giro. I was feeling good during the week and was confident of being able to go for a result but it is not the same feeling as when you're racing.

"I have to thank the team for believing in me and my ability to score results. The riders and staff have kept supporting me and give me freedom in races like this to learn and develop, and also to go for the win. It's nice to pay everyone back with a victory."



Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano4:31:14 
2Silvan Dillier (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
3Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
4Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Trek Factory Racing  
5Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica GreenEdge  
6Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team  
7Paul Voss (Ger) Team Netapp - Endura  
8Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
9Sergei Chernetski (Rus) Team Katusha  
10Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team Katusha  
11Zico Waeytens (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
12Jonathan Fumeaux (Swi) IAM Cycling  
13Martin Elmiger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
14Georg Preidler (Aut) Team Giant-Shimano  
15Juan Esteban Arango Carvajal (Col) Colombia  
16Edward Fabian Diaz Cardenas (Col) Colombia  
17Julien Berard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
18Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
19Thomas Degand (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
20Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) MTN - Qhubeka  
21Andre Fernando S. Martins Cardoso (Por) Garmin Sharp  
22Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
23Benjamin King (USA) Garmin Sharp  
24Rafael Valls Ferri (Spa) Lampre-Merida  
25Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0:00:05 
26Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia  
27Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida0:00:10 
28Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) BMC Racing Team  
29Simon Yates (GBr) Orica GreenEdge0:00:13 
30Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Trek Factory Racing0:00:23 
31Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
32Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
33Patrick Schelling (Swi) IAM Cycling  
34Eliot Lietaer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
35Nino Schurter (Swi) Orica GreenEdge  
36Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
37Francis De Greef (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
38Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) MTN - Qhubeka  
39Jhoan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica GreenEdge  
40Maximiliano Ariel Richeze (Arg) Lampre-Merida0:01:14 
41Patrick Facchini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:01:52 
42Fabian Lienhard (Swi)0:01:57 
43Johan Van Summeren (Bel) Garmin Sharp  
44Nathan Brown (USA) Garmin Sharp  
45Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
46Arthur Van Overberghe (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
47Marcel Aregger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
48Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Team Netapp - Endura  
49Antonio Parrinello (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
50Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha  
51Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
52Alessio Taliani (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
53Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
54Simon Pellaud (Swi)0:02:36 
55Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:03:05 
56Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
57Jeffry Johan Romero Corredor (Col) Colombia  
58Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team  
59Zakkari Dempster (Aus) Team Netapp - Endura  
60Cameron Meyer (Aus) Orica GreenEdge  
61Mirco Saggiorato (Swi) Team Stölting  
62Sam Bennett (Irl) Team Netapp - Endura  
63Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
64Davide Appollonio (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale0:03:42 
65Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
66Edward Theuns (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
67Lawrence Warbasse (USA) BMC Racing Team  
68Steve Chainel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
69Alexander Porsev (Rus) Team Katusha0:04:43 
70Matthew Busche (USA) Trek Factory Racing  
71Nelson Filipe Santos Simoes Oliveira (Por) Lampre-Merida  
72Simon Clarke (Aus) Orica GreenEdge  
73Roger Kluge (Ger) IAM Cycling0:06:47 
74Tom Bohli (Swi)0:07:42 
75Lukas Spengler (Swi)  
76Théry Schir (Swi)  
77Jonathan Paredes (Col) Colombia  
78Lawson Craddock (USA) Team Giant-Shimano  
79Jay Robert Thomson (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka0:11:13 
80Mitchell Docker (Aus) Orica GreenEdge0:15:43 
81Darwin Ferney Pantoja Tobar (Col) Colombia  
82Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Garmin Sharp  
83Axel Domont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
84Maxim Iglinsky (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
85Marco Haller (Aut) Team Katusha  
86Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
87Gianfranco Zilioli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
88Julian Kern (Ger) AG2R La Mondiale  
89Simon Zahner (Swi)  
90Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
91Pirmin Lang (Swi) IAM Cycling  
92Andy Schleck (Lux) Trek Factory Racing  
93Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin Sharp  
94Iker Camano Ortuzar (Spa) Team Netapp - Endura  
95Michel Kreder (Ned) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
96Rohan Dennis (Aus) Garmin Sharp  
97Dominic Klemme (Ger) IAM Cycling  
98Juan Pablo Valencia (Col) Colombia  
99Yannick Eijssen (Bel) BMC Racing Team  
100Jan Keller (Swi)  
101Vladimir Isaichev (Rus) Team Katusha  
102Sea Keong Loh (Mas) Team Giant-Shimano  
103Jaco Venter (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
104Fabio Silvestre (Por) Trek Factory Racing  
105Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Astana Pro Team  
106Marco Bandiera (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
107Valentin Iglinskiy (Kaz) Astana Pro Team  
108Tim De Troyer (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
109Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) AG2R La Mondiale  
110Janier Alexis Acevedo Colle (Col) Garmin Sharp  
111Fredrik Carl Wilhelm Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana Pro Team  
112Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Team Giant-Shimano  
113Sander Helven (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise  
114Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Giant-Shimano  
DNFAndrea Palini (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFLaurent Didier (Lux) Trek Factory Racing  
DNFGatis Smukulis (Lat) Team Katusha  
DNFStijn Devolder (Bel) Trek Factory Racing  
DNFJonathan Mcevoy (GBr) Team Netapp - Endura  
DNFFabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing  
DNFPatrick Gretsch (Ger) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFDuber Armando Quintero Artunduaga (Col) Colombia  
DNFVicente Reynes Mimo (Spa) IAM Cycling  
DNFAliaksandr Kuchynski (Blr) Team Katusha  
DNFRamon Sinkeldam (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano  
DNFGerald Ciolek (Ger) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFEmanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFMichael Schwarzmann (Ger) Team Netapp - Endura  
DNFJose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Lampre-Merida  
DNFErick Rowsell (GBr) Team Netapp - Endura  
DNFAndreas Stauff (Ger) MTN - Qhubeka  


Related Articles

Back to top