Liquigas-Doimo dominate the Giro del Veneto

Oss wins ahead of teammate Sagan

Liquigas-Doimo dominated the Giro del Veneto one-day race in Italy, with Daniel Oss and Peter Sagan taking first and second after heavy rain affected the finale of the race in Castelfranco Veneto.

Oss attacked on a cobbled corner 1.5km from the finish and only Sagan was able to go with him, as the rest of the peloton struggled under the pouring rain. The duo's lead was minimal but they stayed together and stayed clear, with Oss taking victory ahead of Sagan.

Sprinter Sacha Modolo finished third, three seconds behind, with Luca Paolini (Acqua & Sapone) fourth and Nicolas Schnyder (Price - Custom Bikes) fifth. Most of the peloton finished 23 seconds down after a crash by Brazil’s Murilo Fischer (Garmin-Transitions) on a late corner caused havoc.

It was Oss’s first victory as a professional rider.

“I’ve been waiting for this moment for a long time. I’ve gone close several times this season but I was always missing that little bit extra you need to win,” Oss said.

“Today everything went exactly right. We knew the last two kilometres were dangerous because of the cobbled roads and because of the rain. Me and Sagan gave it everything with 1.5km to go. Thanks to a bit of luck and a by taking a few risks, we made it to the finish alone.”

Oss defeated the ten-rider Italian national team that took part in the Giro del Veneto. The squad included former world champion Alessandro Ballan, Mauro Santambrogio and Alberto Ongarato. Marco Marcato, who usually rides for the Vacansoleil team, was best of the Azzurri, in seventh place.

Oss showed his ability in the classics in the spring and was part of the Liquigas-Doimo team at the Tour de France. Now he hopes to end the season on a high, perhaps with a place in the Italian team for the world championships.

“The Tour de France was a big test for me and despite having ridden the Eneco Tour, I still felt fresh today. I now hope I can keep this form for the next few weeks. I want to be in the thick of the action in the final part of the season with Liquigas-Doimo and who knows, perhaps even deserve a place in the Italian team for the world championships.”


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo4:35:05 
2Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo  
3Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:00:03 
4Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
5Nicolas Schnyder (Swi) Price - Custom Bikes  
6Juraj Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo0:00:07 
7Marco Marcato (Ita) Italian National Team0:00:13 
8Oleg Berdos (Mda) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:00:15 
9Matija Kvasina (Cro) Zheroquadro Radenska  
10Christian Meier (Can) Garmin - Transitions0:00:20 
11Alessandro Ballan (Ita) Italian National Team0:00:23 
12Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
13Davide Bonuccelli (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
14Piergiorgio Camussa (Ita) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
15Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
16Sante Marco Liquori (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
17Alessandro Bisolti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
18Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) Italian National Team  
19Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini  
20Alessio Signego (Ita) Team Nippo  
21Denys Kostyuk (Ukr) ISD - Neri  
22Christoph Sokoll (Aut) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
23Jan Keller (Swi) Price - Custom Bikes  
24Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini  
25Walter Proch (Ita) Tecnofilm-Betonexpress 2000  
26Donato Cannone (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
27Aristide Ratti (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
28Dmytro Krivtsov (Ukr) ISD - Neri  
29Cristiano Benenati (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
30Enrico Magazzini (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini  
31Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Liquigas-Doimo  
32Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Team Nippo  
33Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) ISD - Neri  
34Clemens Fankhauser (Aut) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
35Dominik Hrinkow (Aut) Vorarlberg - Corratec  
36Diego Ulissi (Ita) Italian National Team  
37Alan Marangoni (Ita) Italian National Team  
38Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Italian National Team  
39Mirco Lorenzetto (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini  
40Alessandro Proni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
41Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
42Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Italian National Team  
43Krzysztof Szczawinski (Pol) Miche  
44Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) ISD - Neri  
45Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD - Neri  
46Simone Ponzi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini  
47Manuele Boaro (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
48Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
49Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Androni Giocattoli  
50Stefano Borchi (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
51Diego Caccia (Ita) ISD - Neri  
52Simon Clarke (Aus) ISD - Neri  
53Claudio Cucinotta (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
54Andrea Tonti (Ita) Italian National Team  
55Simone Campagnaro (Ita) Miche  
56Damiano Caruso (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
57Pavel Kochetkov (Rus) Zheroquadro Radenska  
58Cameron Meyer (Aus) Garmin - Transitions  
59Timothy Duggan (USA) Garmin - Transitions  
60Volodymyr Bileka (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Conad  
61Murilo Antonio Fischer (Bra) Garmin - Transitions  
62Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Meridiana Kamen Team  
63Matteo Montaguti (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
64Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin - Transitions  
65Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
66Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Team Nippo  
67Jakub Novak (Svk) Amore & Vita - Conad  
68Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche  
69Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) Garmin - Transitions  
70Francesco Failli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
71Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Miche  
72Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
73Luciano Barindelli (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
74Alessandro Bertuola (Ita) Kalev Chocolate Team - Kuota  
75Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
76Luca Solari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
77Didac Ortega (Spa) Acqua & Sapone  
78Viesturs Luksevics (Lat) Kalev Chocolate Team - Kuota  
79Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Androni Giocattoli  
80David Tratnik (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska  
81Andrea Noe (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
82Andi Bajc (Slo) Zheroquadro Radenska  
83Enrico Zen (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
84Bernhard Oberholzer (Swi) Price - Custom Bikes  
85Alfredo Balloni (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini  
86Pietro Orto (Ita) Miche  
87Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Conad  
88Vladislav Borisov (Rus) Amore & Vita - Conad  
89Bernardo Colex Tepoz (Mex) Amore & Vita - Conad  
90G. Luca Mirenda (Ita) ISD - Neri  
91Volodymyr Zagorodny (Ukr) Miche  
92Jure Golcer (Slo) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
93Oscar Gatto (Ita) Italian National Team  
94Vincenzo Garofolo (Ita) Team Nippo  
95Luca Zanasca (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
96Daniele Ratto (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
97Alberto Di Lorenzo (Ita) Zheroquadro Radenska  
98Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Italian National Team  
99Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
100Marco Frapporti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
101Fabien Wolf (Swi) Price - Custom Bikes  
102Matteo Belli (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
103Roberto Antonio Richeze (Arg) Tecnofilm-Betonexpress 2000  
104Marcello Pavarin (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
105Giairo Ermeti (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
106Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  

Related Articles

Back to top