Sagan moves into WorldTour lead

BMC Racing still top of team rankings after Milan-San Remo

World Champion Peter Sagan is back on top of the WorldTour rankings following his second place at Milan-San Remo. The Bora-Hansgrohe rider disposes Richie Porte from top spot on the standings with the BMC rider dropping to third. Milan-San Remo winner Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) jumps into second place overall.

Sagan has accumulated 890 points with Kwiatkowski on 820 and Porte on 812. Julian Alaphilippe, third at Milan-San Remo, is fourth on 785 points while Rohan Dennis (BMC) is fifth on 653 points.

Sagan will have the opportunity to further increase his overall lead this coming week with the trio of cobbled WorldTour races, Dwars door Vlaanderen, E3 Harelbeke and Gent–Wevelgem. He is also slated to race Tour of Flanders and Paris–Roubaix where 500 points await the overall winner.

Kwiatkowski's Milan-San Remo victory was his second WorldTour win of the season following his Strade Bianche success. The former world champion was 17th on the standings before becoming the first Pole to win La Classicissima.

Despite Porte losing his lead, BMC Racing remains the top team on 2354 points with Quick-Step Floors the closest rival on 2324 points. Team Sky are the only other team to have cracked the 2000 barrier thanks to Kwiatkowski's wins at Strade Bianche and Milan-San Remo and Sergio Henao's Paris-Nice victory.

This week will see further changes to the WorldTour standings with the Volta a Catalunya winner taking home 400 points, 300 points at Dwars door Vlaanderen, 400 points at E3 Harelbeke and 500 points at Gent–Wevelgem. Cyclingnews will have reports, results and news from all of this week's WorldTour racing. 

WorldTour standings - March 19

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe890 pts
2Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky820 
3Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team812 
4Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors785 
5Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team653 
6Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team620 
7Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky607 
8Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team598 
9Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb541 
10Alberto Contador (Spa) Trek-Segafredo495 
11Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin440 
12Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-Scott422 
13Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ412 
14Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data400 
15Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott390 
16Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe385 
17Rui Costa (Por) Team UAE Abu Dhabi376 
18Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors335 
19Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team320 
20Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky320 
21Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ320 
22Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin310 
23Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb300 
24Diego Ulissi (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi295 
25Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo290 
26Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors289 
27Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo275 
28Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-Scott270 
29Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin260 
30Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal245 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1BMC Racing Team2354 pts
2Quick-Step Floors2324 
3Team Sky2268 
7Movistar Team1403 
8Team Sunweb1285 
11Lotto Soudal861 
12Team LottoNl-Jumbo856 
13UAE Team Emirates787 
14Dimension Data634 
15Astana Pro Team601 
16AG2R La Mondiale578 

Related Articles

Back to top