Sagan continues reign atop WorldTour standings

Tinkoff increases team lead, Australia still top nation

Peter Sagan and Tinkoff teammate Alberto Contador retain their lead at the top of the UCI WorldTour standings after the Amstel Gold Race despite neither rider taking part in the Dutch race. The top 24 riders remained unchanged following the latest WorldTour event with Tinkoff's Michael Valgren entering standings in 25th place after his second place finish at Amstel Gold Race. 

Despite winning Amstel Gold Race for a second time, Enrico Gasparotto earned zero points, despite 80 on offer for the victor, for his victory as the Italian rides for Pro-Continental team Wanty-Groupe Gobert. Third place finisher Sonny Colbrelli likewise was ineligible for WorldTour points as he rides for the Bardiani–CSF Continental squad. In total, three of the top four riders were from Pro-Continental squads with Direct Energie's Bryan Coquard also ineligible.

After 11 WorldTour races in 2016, 122 riders in total have scored points although Sagan is the only one with more than 300 points to his name. The World Champion has 329 points while Contador is just behind on 289 points. BMC's Richie Porte (222 points) and Sky's Sergio Henao (204 points) are currently the closest challengers to the duo.

Just as the individual standings where relatively unchanged at the pointy end, there is no change to the team standings although Tinkoff was a big winner as it extended its haul from 683 points to 741. Team Sky held on to its second place with 622 points as BMC round outs the top three on 490 points. Giant-Alpecin's tally of 10 points is unchanged from the last update of the WorldTour rankings with Lampre-Merida sitting 17th of the 18 teams on 65 points.

In the nation standings, Australia maintains a slender two point lead over Belgium, 579 to 577 points, with over 100 points difference to Spain in third place on 470 points. There are 28 nations in total who have scored WorldTour points with Belarus sitting bottom at the moment on one point while 12 nations have accumulated three figure numbers.

The next race on the WorldTour calendar takes place on Wednesday with La Flèche Wallonne, followed by Liège - Bastogne - Liège on April 24 and the Tour of Romandie stage race from April 26 to May 1.

WorldTour standings - April 17

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team329 pts
2Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff Team280 
3Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team222 
4Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky204 
5Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo201 
6Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team178 
7Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek-Segafredo166 
8Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team162 
9Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ137 
10Ian Stannard (GBr) Team Sky120 
11Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge119 
12Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ111 
13Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha106 
14Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky104 
15Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky102 
16Mathew Hayman (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge100 
17Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha96 
18Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky92 
19Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Soudal84 
20Tom Boonen (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step80 
21Daniel Martin (Irl) Etixx - Quick-Step76 
22Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx - Quick-Step70 
23Heinrich Haussler (Aus) IAM Cycling70 
24Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff Team68 
25Michael Valgren (Den) Tinkoff Team60 
26Sebastien Reichenbach (Swi) FDJ60 
27Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step57 
28Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale Pro Cycling54 
29Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data52 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tinkoff Team741 pts
2Team Sky622 
3BMC Racing Team490 
5Team Katusha323 
6Movistar Team320 
8Etixx - Quick-Step311 
10Team LottoNl-Jumbo213 
11Lotto Soudal170 
12Cannondale Pro Cycling114 
13IAM Cycling94 
14AG2R La Mondiale84 
15Astana Pro Team80 
16Dimension Data75 
17Lampre - Merida65 
18Team Giant-Alpecin10 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Australia579 pts
5Great Britain397 
17Czech Republic62 
18United States62 
24New Zealand6 
26South Africa4 

Related Articles

Back to top