Porte moves to top of WorldTour rankings

Team Sky lead team standings, Australia top nation

Third place overall at Paris-Nice has elevated Richie Porte (BMC) to top stop on the individual WorldTour standings, disposing compatriot Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge). Geraint Thomas' overall win at the 'race to the sun' has seen Team Sky replace Orica-GreenEdge as the top team. There was no change to the nation standings with Australian holding onto its lead. In total, 43 riders have scored points with racing at Tirreno-Adriatico yet to be considered.

Second place at the Tour Down Under and third at Paris-Nice was enough for Porte to jump to 159 points and take a clear lead in the individual standings. Sky's Sergio Henao moved into second place on 115 points, his sixth place in Paris-Nice adding to his third overall at the Tour Down Under.

Thomas earned his first WorldTour points of the season, 104 in total, to enter the standings in fourth place while Alberto Contador's second place at Paris-Nice was worth 86 points and fifth place.

Team Sky's performance in Paris-Nice have seen the British squad jump to first place with 227 points as Orica-GreenEdge are bumped into second place on 171 points, closely followed by BMC on 166 points. All 18 WorldTour teams have scored points although three - LottoNl-Jumbo, Etixx-Quick Step and IAM Cycling currently only have a solitary point.

With 367 points, Australia has a commanding lead in the nation standings with Spain a distant second at the early-stages of the season on 199 points. Great Britain (145) and Colombia (115) are the only other nations to have reached triple figures. Of the 18 nations to have scored points, Slovenia and the Czech Republic are down the bottom on one a piece.

The WorldTour rankings will be adjusted upon the conclusion of Tirreno-Adriatico on Tuesday with the first one-day race of the WorldTour calendar, Milan–San Remo, taking place Sunday March 19 with 100 points awarded to the winer.

WorldTour standings - March 13, 2016

#Rider Name (Country) Teampoints
1Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team159 pts
2Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky115 
3Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge112 
4Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky104 
5Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff Team86 
6Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff Team68 
7Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha66 
8Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale Pro Cycling54 
9Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Movistar Team51 
10Ruben Fernandez (Spa) Movistar Team40 
11Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge31 
12Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale30 
13Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal21 
14Rafael Valls Ferri (Spa) Lotto Soudal21 
15Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge16 
16Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge12 
17Steve Morabito (Swi) FDJ11 
18Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale10 
19Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky8 
20Mark Renshaw (Aus) Dimension Data8 
21Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ7 
22Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale Pro Cycling6 
23Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal6 
24Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team6 
25Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha6 
26Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team6 
27Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - Merida5 
28Rui Costa (Por) Lampre - Merida4 
29Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin4 
30Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Trek-Segafredo4 
31Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo4 
32Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek-Segafredo4 
33Wouter Wippert (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling2 
34Andr_ Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal2 
35Adam Blythe (GBr) Tinkoff Team2 
36Jesus Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team1 
37Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team1 
38Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo1 
39Marko Kump (Slo) Lampre - Merida1 
40Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre - Merida1 
41Petr Vakoc (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step1 
42Aleksei Tsatevich (Rus) Team Katusha1 
43Leigh Howard (Aus) IAM Cycling1 
#Rider Name (Country) Teampoints
1Team Sky227 pts
3BMC Racing Team166 
4Tinkoff Team156 
5Movistar Team92 
6Team Katusha73 
7Cannondale Pro Cycling62 
8Lotto Soudal50 
9AG2R La Mondiale40 
12Lampre - Merida11 
13Dimension Data8 
14Astana Pro Team6 
15Team Giant-Alpecin4 
16Team LottoNl-Jumbo1 
17Etixx - Quick-Step1 
18IAM Cycling1 
#Rider Name (Country) Teampoints
1Australia367 pts
3Great Britain145 
11New Zealand6 
18Czech Republic1 


Related Articles

Back to top