France names preliminary Worlds selection

Jalabert selects eighteen-man long list

The French Cycling Federation (FFC) announced its long list for the 2009 World championships, September 23 to 27, in Mendrisio, Switzerland. FFC sports director, Laurent Jalabert, selected 18 men from whom the final nine-man team will be formed.

France should have a strong team for the road race based on its riders strong performances in the Tour de France. Three stage winners from this year's race are included in the list: Agritubel's Brice Feillu, Bbox Bouygues Telecom's Pierrick Fédrigo and Thomas Voeckler.

Jalabert also selected French champion Dimitri Champion (Brittany-Schuller) and Quick Step riders Sylvain Chavanel and Jerome Pineau. The remaining riders are from French trade teams Cofidis, Française des Jeux and AG2R La Mondiale.

Julien El Fares (Cofidis) failed to make the selection even though he won the Tour of Wallonie Wednesday.

The World championship road race, September 27, is 262.2 kilometres. The 13.8-kilometre circuit, with two climbs, suits a versatile rider.

Jérôme Coppel and Jean-Christophe Péraud will represent France in the time trial, September 24.

Preliminary French world championships selection
1 Dimitri Champion (Bretagne-Schuller)    
2 Pierrick Fedrigo (BBOX Bouygues Telecom)    
3 Thomas Voeckler (BBOX Bouygues Telecom)    
4 Laurent Lefevre (BBOX Bouygues Telecom)    
5 Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step)    
6 Jérome Pineau (Quick Step)    
7 Remi Pauriol (Cofidis)    
8 Amaël Moinard (Cofidis)    
9 Christophe Kern (Cofidis)    
10 Christophe Le Mevel (Française des Jeux)    
11 Anthony Geslin (Française des Jeux)    
12 Sandy Casar (Française des Jeux)    
13 David Le Lay (Agritubel)    
14 Maxime Bouet (Agritubel)    
15 Brice Feillu (Agritubel)    
16 Christophe Riblon (AG2R-La Mondiale)    
17 Jérôme Coppel (Française des Jeux) - ITT    
18 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Le Creusot) - ITT    


Related Articles

Back to top