2011 New Zealand Mountain Bike Calendar announced

Downhill and cross country national series and national championships set

Mountain Bike New Zealand (MTBNZ) announced its New Zealand Mountain Bike Cup and National Championship schedule for the summer of 2011.

The organization confirmed a mix of well established venues having long histories of hosting events at this level and new hosts who will utilise the opportunity to boost their own event management capability as well as to showcase their regions' mountain bike facilities.

BikeNZ's principal partner Raboplus will again have naming rights of the New Zealand Mountain Bike Cup and National Mountain Bike Championships, with associate sponsor Nature Valley also back on board for 2011. The New Zealand Community Trust also continues its long support of New Zealand mountain biking's competitive national series next summer.

MTBNZ's 2011 Event Coordinator Chris Mildon views the confirmed schedule as a good fit for the sport. "As a national series for New Zealand's best mountain bike athletes, there is no greater test than to measure yourself against your peers on quality race courses."

But the events aren't only for elite athletes. "MTBNZ provides all age group categories from 13 year olds through to masters 50+, to compliment the elite class. So all mountain bikers have the opportunity to enter and compete with like minded riders from around New Zealand and increasingly, from outside New Zealand - all on the same race courses our elite stars will be using".

The series includes four cross country rounds and six downhill rounds spread across the North and South Islands in January and February. The New Zealand National Mountain Bike Championships will wrap things up from February 24-27 in Dunedin.

2011 Cross country New Zealand Mountain Bike Cup
January 9: Round 1 - Tauranga
January 16: Round 2 - Napier
February 13: Round 3 - Nelson
February 20: Round 4 - Christchurch

2011 Downhill New Zealand Mountain Bike Cup
January 7-8: Round 1 - Tauranga
January 14-15: Round 2 - Napier
January 22-23: Round 3 - Rotorua
February 5-6: Round 4 - Nelson
February 11-12: Round 5 - Nelson
February 18-19: Round 6 - Christchurch

2011 New Zealand Mountain Bike National Championships
February 24-27: National Championships - Dunedin

Back to top