La Fleche Wallonne Feminine 2020

Latest News from the Race

Anna van der Breggen wins six in a row at Fleche Wallonne 2020

Anna van der Breggen wins six in a row at Fleche Wallonne 2020 (Image credit: Getty Images)

Anna van der Breggen made history with a sixth consecutive victory at the 2020 La Flèche Wallonne Feminine. The reigning world champion made it to the top of the Mur de Huy ahead of Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futurroscope) and Demi Vollering (Parkhotel Valkenburg).

This year's event was held on a new fall date as part of the post-COVID-19 late-season Women's WorldTour race calendar. The one-day women's race famed for its finale on the Mur de Huy was held on September 30.

Flèche Wallonne is the oldest of the three one-day races that form the women's Ardennes Classics triple crown. The series has only been in place for women since 2017 when Amstel Gold Race Ladies Edition made its return after a 14-year hiatus, followed by the long-running La Flèche Wallonne, and the debut of Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Since 1998, the women's peloton has been competing in their own La Flèche Wallonne Feminine and battling for the prestigious victory on the Mur de Huy. 

The race is synonymous with names like Marianne Vos and Anna van der Breggen who had both won it on five occasions, until Van der Breggen claimed a record sixth title.

To learn more about the history of Flèche Wallonne, read our facts and figures feature.

The women's 124km race started in Huy and then finished on the Mur de Huy. This year's race included climbs over the Côte de Warre, and twice up the three ascents; Côte d'Ereffe, a new climb Côte du Chemin des Gueuses (1.8km with an average gradient of 6.5 per cent) and the Mur de Huy.


Related Features