Skip to main content

De Jongh takes Flanders championship

Quick Step's Steven de Jongh took home the victory in the Kampioenschap van Vlaanderen, besting his fellow Dutchman Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) in the two-man dash for the line.

The 35-year-old was pleased to finally take a win after a series of second and third place finishes and end his career on a high note.

"At the end of this season I'll be retiring from racing and it means a lot to me to leave a positive sign in the group. Even though I'm 35, athletically I still feel like a young rider. I want to continue to entertain and enjoy myself, racing as a professional until the last race.

"It's true, sometimes I'm an old white bear, but inside I still have the spirit of a kid. I'd like it if the commitment I give to my work was an example for all young cyclists who take on a professional career."

Full Results
1Steven De Jongh (Ned) Quick Step3:57:00
2Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Rabobank
3Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team0:00:08
4Alexei Markov (Rus) Team Katusha
5Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel) Cycling Club Bourgas
6Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
7Roy Curvers (Ned) Skil-Shimano
8Jos Van Emden (Ned) Rabobank
9David Vitoria (Swi) Rock Racing
10Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Kazakhstan
11Hubert Schwab (Swi) Quick Step
12Gregory Habeaux (Bel) Verandas Willems
13Joeri Calleeuw (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
14Andy Cappelle (Bel) Palmans Cras
15Geert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
16Francisco Mancebo Perez (Spa) Rock Racing
17Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Rabobank
18Wouter Mol (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
19Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank
20Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Team Katusha0:00:21
21Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil-Shimano0:01:22
22Sibrecht Pieters (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
23Steven Van Vooren (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
24Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:01:52
25Robert Frederique (Bel) Quick Step0:02:56
26Kevin Peeters (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
27Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team
28Bert De Backer (Bel) Skil-Shimano
29Jean Zen (Fra) Palmans Cras
30Grégory Joseph (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
31Alexandr Shushemoin (Kaz) National Team Kazakhstan
32Maxim De Busschere (Bel) Team Katusha
33Thomas Ongena (Bel) Profel Continental Team
34Maxime Vantomme (Bel) Team Katusha
35James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Verandas Willems
36Jan Kuyckx (Bel) Verandas Willems
37Tommy Nankervis (Aus) Fuga - Down Under
38Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
39Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Silence-Lotto
40David Deroo (Fra) Skil-Shimano
41Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Team Katusha
42Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Silence-Lotto
43Dieter Cappelle (Bel) Palmans Cras
44Florian Stalder (Swi) BMC Racing Team
45Timothy Vangheel (Bel) Palmans Cras
46José Enrique Gutierrez (Spa) Rock Racing
47Sjef De Wilde (Bel) Palmans Cras
48Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
49Jeffrey Wiersma (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof
50Jonas Vangenechten (Bel) Verandas Willems
51Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
52Bert Roesems (Bel) Fuga - Down Under
53Wim De Vocht (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
54Jurgen Francois (Bel) Palmans Cras
55Dmitriy Gruzdev (Kaz) National Team Kazakhstan
56Matti Helminen (Fin) Cycling Club Bourgas
57Sven Renders (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
58Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil-Shimano
59Nazar Jumabekov (Kaz) National Team Kazakhstan
60Mathieu Criquielion (Bel) Verandas Willems
61Kristof Goddaert (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
62Nikolas Maes (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
63Gediminas Kaupas (Ltu) Team Piemonte
64Serguei Klimov (Rus) Team Katusha
65Nikita Eskov (Rus) Team Katusha
66Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Verandas Willems
67Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Silence-Lotto
68Evgeniy Nepomnyaschiy (Kaz) National Team Kazakhstan
69Dmitry Kozontchuk (Rus) Rabobank
70Koen Barbe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
71Mitchell Docker (Aus) Skil-Shimano
72Koen De Kort (Ned) Skil-Shimano
73Kenny Terweduwe (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
74Carlos Barredo (Spa) Quick Step
75Mauricio Ardila (Col) Rabobank
76Kenny Lisabeth (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
77Gerben Löwik (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
78Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank
79Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
80Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel) Team Katusha
81Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Quick Step
82Aaron Kemps (Aus) Rock Racing
83Nick Nuyens (Bel) Rabobank
84Niko Eeckhout (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
85Steven De Neef (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
86Roy Sentjens (Bel) Silence-Lotto


Latest on Cyclingnews